First Day of School

Today was the first day of school in my district, and I think it went pretty well.  I was worried about the woman who took over Junior English because she previously taught honors, but she seems very knowledgeable and she doesn’t talk down to the kids, a complaint I heard frequently about last year’s teacher.  The class of sophomores was already out of control; based on past experience in that room, I was not surprised.  I have yet to get my rhythm in the Resource Study Hall as I have never worked this closely with the teacher.  Theater Arts will be a learning experience for the kids and for me.  I know English teachers are just supposed to know how to direct plays–my father did for many years–but I’ve had no experience with it,

I couldn’t help but smile as I saw kids waiting at the bus stop on my way to work.  Many looked excited.  I know that I was.  A prayer that I memorized as a teen came to my mind, and I thought I would share it here.  I have no idea who wrote it; I’ve long since lost track of the book from which it came.

Give me this day and all it holds.

Enlarge my faith as time unfolds

the problems I did not expect.

Crush out the fruits of my neglect.

A deep concern for others give;

don’t let me tell them how to live.

Someone to love who also cares,

an interest in the day’s affairs,

a sense of worth, and strength renewed,

and something lovely to be viewed,

these are the things for which I pray,

but first, O Lord,

give me this day.

3 Responses to “First Day of School”


  1. 1 Sally August 12, 2008 at 9:00 pm

    Beautiful prayer.

    Our first day of school is this coming Monday, and I already have my post written for that day. Stop by if you remember.

  2. 2 Becky August 13, 2008 at 5:50 am

    I will certainly stop by, Sally. I am interested in how it feels to watch school open when you are retired (and in your blog, of course). I told the hubby I might want to take a trip far away the first year school opens and I don’t go.

  3. 3 Brenda August 25, 2008 at 10:01 pm

    I had not heard this prayer before … but it is wonderful! Thanks for sharing it!


Leave a Reply

