Green Eggs and Ham

In about eight hours, I will be having green eggs for breakfast.  That’s one of the benefits of having your grandsons visit.

The hubby and I take the grandsons individually for a week during the summer. The hubby, the middle of five boys that were born to his parents in six years, feels strongly that each boy needs time to be the center of attention.

Our week with three-year-old Tony is winding down, and it has been a lot of fun.  He is much different from his five-year old brother, who visited last month.  Both have active imaginations.  Tony doesn’t have too much patience with the real phone, but he has talked to his family several times on the Fisher-Price phone I had planned to pass on to my grand-nephew.  We walked to the river down the road from our house, and he found a squirrel who sits in a tiny swing down the road that he’s convinced is Hammy from Over the Hedge. (The squirrel is plastic.  Obviously.) I let him watch Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles while he rested from a bike ride and found myself sword-fighting a little later.  (I’m Michelangelo; he’s Raphael.  Thanks go to Grandpa for providing Nerf swords).

A lot of the time we read, and I’ve really enjoyed that.  As his daddy did, Tony likes the Three Billy Goats Gruff, a Golden Book which has seen better days. We read the creation story in a children’s Bible and I found out that God put the world on a hook in His living room.  Who knew?  Tony’s favorite, though, is Green Eggs and Ham, which, I found out, you can watch in its entirety on YouTube.

So in the morning, Grandpa, Tony and I will have green eggs.  I don’t know that Tony’ll eat them, but he may.  He’s had fun the past two mornings with Grandpa’s talking cereal–Rice Krispies.  I am wondering if he’ll cover his eyes before he tastes the eggs; that’s what he mimics from the YouTube version.  I hope this is something he remembers.

People told me before I had grandkids that there was nothing like it, but I guess you have to experience them to know what they mean.  I have take more time with the grandsons than I did with my kids, I think, and for that, Son and Daughter, I apologize.  We were so busy.  Weren’t we?  I just hope Dad and I left you often with a sense of wonder.

And to my son and daughter-in-law, I just have to say thank you.  Dad and I appreciate experiencing the world through the eyes of your children.

Tony at the park.

Tony at the park.

3 Responses to “Green Eggs and Ham”


  1. 1 Sally July 26, 2008 at 8:30 pm

    We did the same with our grandchildren when they were small, and it was wonderful. Now, they’re teens and we don’t get them for a week, but we enjoy whatever time we get with them.

  2. 2 Becky July 26, 2008 at 9:08 pm

    Grandchildren are wonderful gifts, aren’t they? 🙂

  3. 3 Sally July 29, 2008 at 6:05 pm

    How can you know two people named Sally? I am the authentic one! : )

    I wrote in to say that I’m happy to share.


Leave a Reply

