My Left Hand Feels Bereft

All in all, my check-in with the orthopedic surgeon yesterday went well.  The arm is better, he said.  If its slight dislocation goes back on its own, my sling and swath should be gone in eight weeks.  He frowned, though, when he looked at my left hand.

“I wouldn’t suggest that you wear your rings,” he said.

As if I could get them off.

He proceeded to do this sort of cool thing involving two rubber gloves and a hemostat, and he got the rings off.

“If you hurt yourself again,” he said, “take your rings off right away.”

Who knew?  Initially, at least, I was concentrating on staying conscious.

My wedding ring has lived on my left hand for thirty years.  I miss it.

2 Responses to “My Left Hand Feels Bereft”


  1. 1 The Nephew July 16, 2008 at 7:52 pm

    I know what you mean! I take my ring off every day at work, because it reduces the risk of injury. But, every day when I leave, if I forget to put it back on, I start going nuts in about 10 minutes… I usually drive back to get it.

  2. 2 Becky July 17, 2008 at 4:33 am

    I know its the person you are attached to and not the symbol, so I wonder a little at the sense of loss. Still, the loss is there, as you said.


Leave a Reply

