New Message for “Our” Cell Phone

A couple of years ago, pre-retirement, both the hubby and I had cell phones.  When he lost the company phone, he took possession of mine.  I had to change my habits a little and find a phone to call him at lunch, but generally, this plan worked pretty well.  Until recently.

This is the call I got from the administrative assistant at Habitat: “Can you give me Ron’s cell phone number?  We keep getting this weird message…”

I thought for a minute.  They’ve been calling him on “our” cell for several months now.

“Does the message start out with ‘This is Becky’s phone’?” I asked.

It did.

Hmmm…

I told the hubby we should probably record a new message for the phone.  My idea went something like this:

You have reached Ron and Becky.  We would love to amswer your call, but our phone doesn’t receive inside our house and we don’t keep it on all the time, anyway.  HOWEVER, if you leave us a message, as soon as we leave the house and turn on the phone, we will get back to you.  We promise.

The hubby looked at me strangely, but he decided that the above message really did say all it needed to say.  We proceeded to the phone (we had to leave, of course) to record our new greeting.

Neither one of us can figure out how.

2 Responses to “New Message for “Our” Cell Phone”


  1. 1 The Nephew July 10, 2008 at 9:02 pm

    Now that’s hilarious!! Actually, I think that if you listen to your messages and wait until the very end there should be more options to choose from, one of them being to change your greeting.

  2. 2 Becky July 11, 2008 at 12:06 pm

    Thanks, Nephew. We will have to try that.


Leave a Reply

