The Daughter-in-law Braves the Birds

The last time I went to the zoo was with my sister in Saginaw. One of the things I particularly liked was the Butterfly House. The butterflies flew inside this net-like house, and I was enthralled by their beauty. Such would not have been the case had there been birds flying around me (see previous post).

Unbeknownst to me, some zoos have houses where birds fly around you and you can feed them. The daughter-in-law filled me in. Her first experience with such a place was as a child, and she was not overly thrilled with the birds that lined up on her arm.

Moms, though, brave the unknown for their children.

Last week, the daughter-in-law took Tony, the three-year-old grandson, to the zoo. She let him pick four things he wanted to do and he picked, among other things….the birdhouse.

She put off the birdhouse until last, hoping that Tony would be tired or forget, but such was not the case. Squaring her shoulders and breathing deep, the daughter-in-law walked in the birdhouse and even purchased nectar so Tony could feed the birds. The bird on her arm is a lorikeet, a species of Australian parrot.

The hubby’s grandma used to say that it was pretty poor stock that couldn’t raise kids that were better than they were. The daughter-in-law’s courage means that the grandsons will be enthralled…not terrified…of the birds.  In that way, they’ll be way braver than me.

Way to go, Beth!

1 Response to “The Daughter-in-law Braves the Birds”


  1. 1 beth July 1, 2008 at 8:30 pm

    Thanks mom. I still can not believe I did it. I still jump when there is a low flying bird. Birds just freak me out. I overcame for my boy. The things moms do for her children. 🙂


Leave a Reply

