Oh My Gosh!! Vacation Bible School–and RJ–Are Almost Here!!


We had our “Oh, My Gosh!!” meeting this morning.  What that means is that we are officially alerted that Vacation Bible School approaches.  If you saw, like I see, the people helpers who return each year, you would know that this is a time we all look forward to.  For the last three years, I have looked forward to VBS because my oldest grandson stays with me that week and attends.  Prepping for VBS and for RJ’s stay keeps me pretty busy!

I was blessed when we moved to become a member of a very “Baptist” Lutheran church.  At least that’s the way my kids describe it.  My son says sometimes, when he comes to my church, he really wants to flick his Bic.  For those of you who aren’t Lutheran…that ain’t the way it usually is.

I think in part because our church is, um… lively… it has a well-attended VBS, at least for our little town. We run between 130-170 kids a day.  This will be my seventh year as “bag lady.”  There are only two of us, and while we are a pretty efficient team (the other lady said she’d retire if the time ever cane when I didn’t help her), there is a LOT of work to be done.  There is actually only a minute for transporting the kids between stations, and that’s not a lot of time to move 100+ kids.  I enjoy it, though.  I am busy in the craft room packing and then transporting bags , which means I get to see every age, 4-11, as they come through.  I get to see their papers.  I often get to hear their songs.  More importantly, though, I know that they are learning things should last them a lifetime and that this may be the only opportunity we get to witness.  The theme this year comes from Joshua 24:15:

But if serving the LORD seems undesirable to you, then choose for yourselves this day whom you will serve, whether the gods your forefathers served beyond the River, or the gods of the Amorites, in whose land you are living. But as for me and my household, we will serve the LORD.

This will be the third year that my grandson, RJ, will join us for VBS week. I look forward to it, even though I am sort of tired at the end of the morning.  We have taken RJ to the county fair, where he actually got to pet a black sheep, and we spend every afternoon, the last two years with temperatures in the 90s, in the park.  my project is to get him to ride his bicycle without training wheels.  He’s not really up for that, so we’ll see how it goes.

Anyway… I planned kid menus for all next week.  The house is almost kid-proofed, I think.  I have my outside chores done ahead, and …

OH MY GOSH!!!

2 Responses to “Oh My Gosh!! Vacation Bible School–and RJ–Are Almost Here!!”


  1. 1 Beth June 19, 2008 at 8:54 am

    RJ is very excited to come visit and go to vbs. He can not wait. Every morning this week he has asked if today is when I go to grandma and grandpas. He has also told me one rule grandpa has which I think is so funny he remembers. He is preparing he packed his own bag. It is so cute!


  1. 1 Oh My Gosh!! Vacation Bible School–and RJ–Are Almost Here!! Trackback on June 18, 2008 at 7:03 pm

Leave a Reply

