Vindication: I’m Not As Overprotective As I Seem

vindicate: to clear, as from an accusation, imputation, suspicion, or the like ( in  this case, cleared from the suspicion of being an overprotective mom)

If you read this post, you know that I have been a little concerned about the trip to Ireland that the daughter plans. She (the daughter) was talking with a patient at her clinic that has been to Ireland several times, and the lady mentioned that she should stay in hostels because they are SO much cheaper.

“No,” the daughter said, ‘I’m going with a tour to make my mom feel better.”

The lady pooh-poohed the idea, stating that the daughter is an adult, which she is, and that she is perfectly capable of taking care of herself, which is also true.

“Ah,” said the daughter, “but would you feel the same way if it was YOUR daughter going overseas alone for the first time?”

The lady said…nothing.

I feel vindicated.

0 Responses to “Vindication: I’m Not As Overprotective As I Seem”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

