A Lesson Grandma Needs to Learn

I am sure that there will be more, but this was the lesson for this weekend.

RJ will be six in September. He is over four feet tall, and he weighs 52 pounds. I know to brace myself when I first see him. I know he will jump into my arms because, well, he always has.

What I don’t know yet is how to say no when he says, “Hold me.” I have held him since he was born.

This time, when we saw him though, he told my friend that Grandma could pick him up. “She has to say ‘ugh!’ when she does it, though,” he said.

He’s right.  I need him to jump, too.

I didn’t really think about it until he wanted carried at the Strawberry Festival and my niece mentioned to me that he probably was too big to be carried.

He probably is.

So. I have a plan. I am going to tell him that this fall, when he goes to first grade, that he will be too big to be carried. Not too big to sit on my lap, you understand. Just to be carried. He seems to understand conversations like that.

My arms will hold out this summer.

I hope.

4 Responses to “A Lesson Grandma Needs to Learn”


  1. 1 Macayla Jo Adams June 17, 2008 at 9:15 am

    Forget the arms! I pray for your back! :o) How sweet that he still wants you to hold him, though. So many boys these days are already anti-being held by his age. What a blessing!

  2. 2 Becky June 17, 2008 at 10:53 am

    You have a point. He is awfully sweet, though. He is coming to stay with Grandpa and me for Vacation Bible School next week, and I hope he is excited, because I sure am!

  3. 3 SIS NOEL July 3, 2008 at 4:09 pm

    lol. That is a cute story. I told my daughter since she was about 2 I would rock her like a baby until she was 18. She is seven now. I read that childrens story “Love you forever” If you havent read it. Buy the book it is a treasure. Anyhow about once a week she jumps into my lap and tells me to rock her like a baby. I do. The other day she came running into the room to jump in my lap and I was sooooo tired and she she wiggled her way into my lap and said “rock me like a baby mommy” I said ” Oh Ana Im so tired Im not going to do that right now” She looked at my with her sad face and said, “but you said you would rock me like a baby til I was 18?” Dont you know I rocked that baby 7 year old so close til she got her fix and moved on. I have come to the realization she wont let rock her like a baby much longer. God Bless…

  4. 4 Becky July 4, 2008 at 10:51 am

    LOVE YOU FOREVER brings tears to my eyes every time I read it. You’re right–the time we have to rock them, or hold them, is oh so short. God’s blessings to you and your daughter. Thanks for commenting.


Leave a Reply

