A Rose by Any Other Name

If you are observant, you may have noticed that the name of this blog has changed. Want to know why?

When I first started blogging, I was freaking out a little about turning 50. It sounded old. Having never been “old” before, that sort of scared me. See, I was a little short on role models for this stage of my life. My mom had pseudobulbar syndrome, which affected her brain stem. The first attack came when she was forty-three. By the time she was 50, she had some problems. She was still my mom; she just wasn’t healthy. So…I didn’t know quite what the second half of my life would–or should– entail. There were some other things going on that made me wonder about my life, too. Not that it was bad, you understand. Things were just sort of up in the air, and I was trying to figure myself out.

I would like to tell you that I have myself figured out now, but such is not the case. I do, however, know a little more. I know that I am sociable but not a person who seeks out social situations, and that’s fine. I know that I crave quiet, and that’s fine, too. I know who I want to be, and that’s someone from whom the love of the Lord shines, and that, I am convinced, is a journey I will be on until I die. Hence the new name.

I sort of wanted this picture

to be my header, but it wouldn’t work out graphically. The picture we used was from the same place, just without me in it, but if you look ahead at the path, the idea is the same, I think. My thanks go to my son for handling it for me. The picture was taken at Wildwood Preserve, one of the Ohio parks that I find to be worshipful in atmosphere. Maybe heaven will have some woods since I like them so much.

I hope you like the change.

3 Responses to “A Rose by Any Other Name”


  1. 1 Carol June 9, 2008 at 9:21 am

    Ever notice how there are things in life we don’t really appreciate until they’re gone?

    Glad you’re plugged in again!

  2. 2 writeathome June 9, 2008 at 12:28 pm

    Hi Becky,

    I like the new header and new name you’ve given to your blog. We can get so busy with life that we don’t take the time to “be still” and be in God’s presence. Even Jesus needed rest. Many years ago, a pastor told me that if you don’t take time to come apart, you will “come apart.” I think there’s a lot of truth to that. I think two of the hardest things for us to do are to rest and wait, partly because of the go go society in which we live. God help us to know when it’s time to be still.

  3. 3 Becky June 9, 2008 at 5:16 pm

    Carol and Carol,

    I certainly re-appreciate water every time we lose power. You are so right about taking things for granted. Thanks also for the feedback on the new name/header. I’m still working on listening for God’s telling me to be still… 🙂


Leave a Reply

