Thursday Thirteen #1: Things I Meant to Blog about and Didn’t

1. Ever have trouble retrieving a word or a name from your memory? I work with a lady who says her disks are full when that happens. Either way, it seems to happen more often the older I get, which is why I found this article on 12 Memory Tricks to be interesting. I find setting things to a melody, looking for patterns and chunking to be the most helpful.

2. Then there was the Happiness Quiz. Although my life is not perfect, I like to think I’m a happy person. Take the quiz and let me know how you score. I got a 77.

3. How about 12 Spiritual Lessons from Prince Caspian? The movie was really good, although I wish I had reread the book before I went. The lesson that spoke to me the most? It was making time to enjoy God’s presence.

4. I thought How the Body Ages was pretty interesting. I have enough gray in my hair now (mostly around my ears) that the oldest grandson noticed it and thought it should go away. Now. I haven’t decided what I will do about it. And the hearing? Did you hear about the cell phone ring that older adults can’t hear? I have actually had it demonstrated to me, and I couldn’t hear it. I did catch the student with her cell phone though!

5. It’s always interesting to read articles about Joy and how to make it last. Both in my job and my personal life, I have found it helpful to share positive feelings. There’s always something negative to see, but if you emphasize the positive, you give yourself and others incentive to go on.

6. I like to read things by Philip Yancey, and I found that A Believer’s To-Be List was no exception. At this stage in my particular journey, the advice I found to be most important was to simplify and get rid of what distracts me from God. I’m still working on that.

7. I got this list, 10 Secrets of a Happy Person, from Tena at In His Time. Spending time in God’s presence and thinking positive thoughts keep reappearing in my reading. Those must be my lessons to learn at this time in my life.

8. Then there’s 10 Steps to Being a Better Wife. I’ve been married thirty years, but I still have a lot to learn. Currently I’m working on #7: Don’t make him guess. Tell him what you want. I keep thinking I do that, but there is still some miscommunication, it seems.

9. I found this guide to speed cleaning your house. Somehow, during the school year, things seem to get away from me. I always tell myself I’ll get caught up in the summer, but that hasn’t happened yet. I am happy to report, though, that I leave my kitchen clean every night now. Well, mostly anyway. Having a clean counter to look at in the morning makes me a lot more cheerful.

10. As a linguistics major and former English teacher, I found this article in defense of the semicolon worth a read. I agree that the proper use of a semicolon is one of the finer points of grammar, but I don’t think that semicolons should be exiled. If you know how to use them, you should go ahead and do so. Incorrect usage doesn’t keep people from using commas, now does it?

11. On the down side, there was this article about What High Schoolers Don’t Know. It’s worth a read even though it is depressing. Maybe we need some of that positive thinking that I mentioned above. For additional reading on the reasons behind our kids’ lack of knowledge, you might try this article:Does No Child Left Behind Make the Grade?

12. On her blog Write Thinking, Robin Lee Hatcher asks, “Why we are dependent on foreign oil?” I don’t claim to be the most education person in the world when it comes to our national oil supply, but Robin Lee’s question and the graphic she provided have given me something to think about.

13. Finally. there’s this article from WebMD entitled “The Older You Are, the Happier You Get.” Media portrayals of older citizens tend to be depressing, so I thought it was nice to hear that, according to Barbara Becker Holstein, PhD, “Older people can be in the moment, be in real time and enjoy it.” That’s the kind of older person I’d like to be. How about you?

For more Thursday Thirteen blog entries, go here.

6 Responses to “Thursday Thirteen #1: Things I Meant to Blog about and Didn’t”


  1. 1 SandyCarlson May 28, 2008 at 8:58 pm

    All of these are great topics!

  2. 2 Cheerio May 28, 2008 at 9:44 pm

    Yes! you’re #1 is so true. Many times it has happened to me and it really bugs me.

  3. 3 SJ Reidhead May 29, 2008 at 12:40 am

    I keep ideas on a file – use the same one every day. It’s 34 pages now!

    SJR
    The Pink Flamingo

  4. 4 It's all Good. May 29, 2008 at 7:57 am

    Hi, I’m one of your fellow Thursday 13’ers, and the title of your T13 got my attention. Always interested in learning something new and interesting. Now, with the memory tricks from #1 above, I’ll be able to remember them… 🙂

    Cheers
    Kelly Cat’s inquisitive human

  5. 5 elementaryhistoryteacher May 29, 2008 at 9:18 am

    What an interesting idea for a 13 list! I’m always saving links to things I mean to blog about, but then other things get in the way. Perhaps this is my solution!

  6. 6 Becky May 29, 2008 at 4:28 pm

    There just isn’t enough time in a day to blog about everything, is there? Good luck, Kelly’s Cat’s human, with the memory techniques.


Leave a Reply

