What I Was Going to Tell You

I had this big blog entry all planned, a good one, to tell you that today the hubby and I celebrate our thirtieth anniversary. I was going to tell you how he took the microphone in church yesterday and told people how thankful he was for our thirty years and how he wanted thirty more. I was going to tell you how his voice caught when he said that, and how my heart swelled with love for him.

Then I thought I’d tell you about the shy boy who brought his brand-new ’75 Sport Fury to McDonald’s to show me, his heart bursting with joy at his first new car. About the wonderful Christmas candlelight service that we went to, where somehow the sky was clear and you could see the stars, but big puffy snowflakes drifted lazily to the ground. We both knew then that we had something special.

Or maybe, I thought, I would tell you about the twenty-seven year old who built a house for his family. In four months. After he worked all day. Or the guy my dad wanted at his side when God took my mother home.

The guy who, through his own grief and shock, held the family together when his brother was killed? The one who has held my hands and prayed with me? Who wasn’t afraid to let tears come to his eyes?

I was going to tell you how he cared for his own mother when she had cancer. How he learned to give shots. How after she died, he took in his brother. How that interrupted his college plans, putting his degree off some twenty years.

I couldn’t decide if I should talk about his being a Gideon, of the burden his heart carries for missions. Maybe, I thought, I should just talk about how he laughed when our five-year-old grandson offered advice on a building project, something so very reminiscent of our son.

But I couldn’t decide. There’s just so much. So I thought I’d just tell you that I never dreamed I could love someone this much. And I thank God every day that He drew us together.

[rockyou id=111999954&w=426&h=319]

9 Responses to “What I Was Going to Tell You”


  1. 1 Ron May 5, 2008 at 12:30 pm

    Happy Anniversary!

  2. 2 Tena May 5, 2008 at 3:04 pm

    AWWWWWWWWWW…!!!
    What an absolutely beautiful, heart-touching post about your husband! Congratulations on 30 years! What a testimony to God’s power, eh? 🙂
    Have a wonderful day!

  3. 3 Becky May 6, 2008 at 6:15 am

    Thank you Ron and Tena. We had a lovely day.

  4. 4 Carol May 6, 2008 at 12:01 pm

    Becky,

    A very Happy Anniversary to you and your husband! How wonderful to be able to say that you’ve been together for 30 years. Our 25th is coming up in August. Also, I wanted to say that I appreciate the things you are doing as a teacher to make a difference in the lives of your students. Your caring for them really does come through in your posts.

  5. 5 Becky May 6, 2008 at 4:43 pm

    Thank you, Carol. Do you have something special planned for your 25th? I hope so. It’s a big milestone, isn’t it?

  6. 6 writeathome May 6, 2008 at 11:26 pm

    Hi Becky. We had talked about an Alaskan cruise, but at this point, it’s kind of iffy. Finances are kind of tight right now, but even if we end up not being able to go, we will still do something special.

  7. 7 the nephew May 6, 2008 at 11:28 pm

    I love the slideshow!

  8. 8 Becky May 7, 2008 at 5:20 am

    Nephew, do you think we have changed a little? 🙂 Did you notice that the oldest picture was taken in Grandpa’s house by the stereo?

    Carol, I will be watching your blog to see what happens in August.

  9. 9 iluv2prshim May 8, 2008 at 2:38 pm

    Happy Anniversary! Your post was very touching. May God bless you with many more years together. 🙂


Leave a Reply

