EARTHQUAKE!!

Indiana just had an earthquake. Of course I was sitting in front of the computer. I thought I imagined it, but it is already all over the news. It was a 5.4; not a little quake, either (for Indiana, anyway).

What was interesting was that we did not hear the wind chimes. The desk moved back and forth, and I actually felt the floor move under my feet.

I promptly yelled for the hubby. (I was a little freaked out). He was awake; the night table was banging against the wall next to him.

I think I’ve had my excitement for the morning.

3 Responses to “EARTHQUAKE!!”


  1. 1 Beth April 18, 2008 at 9:27 pm

    I heard people talking in Columbus saying they felt stuff on the news. WOW this was a powerful one… I would have freaked out if the floor started to move.

  2. 2 writeathome April 19, 2008 at 1:40 am

    Hi Becky,

    Was this the first earthquake you ever felt? I experienced my first one in Ocotober of 1989, about 5 months after we had moved to California. I remember seeing the walls move in my sister’s bedroom, and it just felt like I was watching something you would see in a movie. It seemed unreal. We went to the front doorway, and I could see my brother-in-law’s car rocking in the driveway. Then it was over, and it seemed like nothing ever happened. I have relatives in Chicago and Milwaukee, but I haven’t heard if they felt it or not.

  3. 3 Becky April 19, 2008 at 6:58 pm

    The whole thing certainly was interesting, Beth.

    Carol, this was the first earthquake that I experienced. I did NOT move to a doorway; at least now I know that’s the right thing to do. You’re right about the movie thing; all people talked about yesterday was the surreal aspect of the earthquake. Living in Indiana, we all know what to do when there’s a tornado, though!


Leave a Reply

