Nag, Nag, Nag

It looks like the end of the school year is going to be a challenge. It’s a challenge every year, actually, because the kids sort of give up after Easter break, but this year I have several freshmen who haven’t yet figured out that all of school is not recess. My current method of dealing with that is to chase them down in their study halls to get the work they should have done in class. I am not always free to do that as I am assigned to other classes, and I do warn them.

Yesterday, I warned one of the boys. He currently has an F in English. He is a careless worker— when he works. Most of the time he is off in la-la land. Anyway, when I showed up, he had a fit, but his teacher sent him with me anyway.

The first part of the work we did involved his recopying worksheets that he had lost so that he could turn them in. I knew he had done them. Sort of. It’s a constant battle to get him to actually write what he needs to write instead of the shortened version that won’t tell him anything if a miracle should occur and he used the sheet to review.

The second part involved a story and worksheet that he was to complete himself–alone–like the kids have to for proficiency testing. The boy had a fit. He wanted to do it back in the study hall room. He didn’t want to do it at all. I said I didn’t see the problem since he had done the worksheet before. He told me that the teacher “lost” the first one. Then he told me he hadn’t really read the story (no surprise there) and was going to pay attention this time. And then he walked out on me.

Fortunately, the study hall teacher had my back and sent him back. I walked in the room as they were discussing the issue. The girls in the study hall laughed at the boy for even trying that stunt on me.

“You can’t walk out on Mrs. C.,” they said.

“Why not? I can do the reading in here!”

The study hall teacher, who is just thirty, covered her face with her hands and said, “Because it’s rude…”

The girls in the study hall giggled as they interrupted. “That’s not it, ” they said.

The teacher waited.

The boy snarled.

The girls continued, ‘You can’t walk out on Mrs. C. ‘cuz she’ll just follow you!”

The boy went back with me. His worksheet is done, but given his attitude, I doubt that it is done well.

(Sigh.) Who knew I would have all that college behind me to make my living as a NAG!!

1 Response to “Nag, Nag, Nag”


  1. 1 writeathome April 12, 2008 at 2:02 am

    I guess I should be thankful I only have 2 students to nag…………my own two kids. 🙂


Leave a Reply

