One More Valentine Post (I think)

Valentine’s Day is tomorrow, and I don’t have to work! I guess I am overly excited because I have Winter Break until next Tuesday. Pleasure reading, here I come! And maybe I’ll do some housework.

Anyway, I just wanted to share the verse from the daughter’s Valentine and my recipe for muffins for the hubby. Last year I couldn’t find the recipe that I usually use, but this time it was right there when I looked. What’s up with that, anyway?

Here’s the verse. All I can tell you about the source is that it’s from an American Greetings card, and that I am thankful the daughter and I are close.

What Is a Mother?

A mother’s someone special with an understanding heart-

When others lose their faith in you

That’s just when hers will start.

A mother’s someone loving

Who has the sweetest way

Of giving you encouragement

When skies are looking gray…

This isn’t all of it, but I am sure you can see why it brought tears to my eyes.

Now…on to the muffins! Because the hubby is fond of cherries, I cut the chocolate morsels in half.

Chocolate Cherry Cordial Muffins

2 cups all-purpose flour

2 cups milk chocolate morsels, divided

1/4 cup granulated sugar

1/4 c. firmly packed brown sugar

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup chopped maraschino cherries

3/4 cup milk

1/3 cup vegetable oil (I substitute apple sauce)

1 egg

COMBINE flour, 1 3/4 cups morsels, granulated sugar, brown sugar, baking powder, baking soda and salt in large bowl. Stir in cherries.

COMBINE milk, oil and egg in small bowl; stir into flour mixture just until moistened. Spoon into greased or paper-lined muffin cups. Muffin cups will be full. Sprinkle with remaining 1/4 cup morsels.

BAKE in preheated 375 degree oven for 18 to 20 minutes until golden brown. Cool five minutes and remove from pan.

Makes one dozen muffins.

0 Responses to “One More Valentine Post (I think)”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

