About 2007

Cindy posted this year in review questionnaire over at Notes in the Key of Life, and I thought it was worth sharing. Hope it gives you food for thought

1. What did you do in 2007 that you’d never done before?

I kept both grandsons for a week alone and then a weekend together, attended the hubby’s retirement party, went on a retirement trip with the hubby during which we drove from the Atlantic Coast to the Pacific, finally got to walk in the ocean at Panama City, and saw the Alamo, San Juan Capistrano, the Hoover Dam and the Grand Canyon. I also enrolled in my first on-line Bible study, Believing God by Beth Moore, and I am learning a LOT! Finally, I helped with a housing blitz at my church during which we built the walls for four houses in a day.

2. Did you keep your New Year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

I usually don’t make New Year’s resolutions, although I do set goals for myself.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?

My nephew and his wife welcomed baby Jack on the nephew’s birthday in April, and then the nephew’s sister (hence my niece) and her husband were blessed with a baby girl, Maria, on the niece’s birthday.

4. Did anyone close to you die?

No.

5. What countries did you visit?

None. That’s one of my future goals, although I’d like to go to Alaska and Hawaii first.

6. What would you like to have in 2008 that you lacked in 2007?

More patience, more energy and more pain-free days.

7. What dates from 2007 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

May 1 because that’s the date the hubby’s retirement began. It’s nothing like we thought it would be, but his retiring was still a good decision

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?

It was probably adjusting to the hubby’s retirement and the changes it brought to our lives. A lot of the things I was used to changed!

9. What was your biggest failure?

I haven’t been as patient or as forgiving as I should be, but that’s an ongoing battle.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?

I was pretty healthy for someone with a chronic disease (rheumatoid arthritis) , and I am thankful for that.

11. What was the best thing you bought?

I know this sounds silly, but it was the reverse osmosis system we bought for our kitchen. We have softened water and had been buying our drinking water at WalMart. I didn’t know how much of a hassle that was until I didn’t have to do it anymore!

12. Whose behavior merited celebration?

The hubby has adjusted well to retirement so far. He devotes a lot of his time to the local Habitat for Humanity chapter. The daughter is happier than I have seen her in years. The son took his family on their first-ever camping trip and got the job he has been longing for. RJ, the oldest grandson, can read!

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?

Many of my students. They need help, but sometimes they won’t receive it. You can lead kids to school, but the desire to better themselves has to come from within.

14. Where did most of your money go?

Medicine. But the medicine keeps me healthy, so it’s something I try not to worry about.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?

The hubby’s retirement, our trip, the son’s new job.

16. What song will always remind you of 2007?

Anything from the GT and the Halo Express CDs that the daughter is revisiting from her childhood. I think her favorite song (and mine) is the one based on Isaiah 41:10.

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:

happier or sadder? happier

older and wiser?–I have to agree with Cindy here. She said “definitely older…I hope wiser!”

thinner or fatter?–10 pounds thinner!

richer or poorer?– poorer

18. What do you wish you’d done more of?

Listening, praying, witnessing.

19. What do you wish you’d done less of?

Worrying and complaining.

21. What was your favorite TV program?

Bones, House, and NCIS are probably my most favorite.

22. What was the best book you read?

How can you pick a favorite when it comes to books? There’s the Bible, of course. Then I enjoyed Call of the Wild and Night again. I read The Odyssey for the first time. I liked A LONG WAY FROM CHICAGO, and I was privileged to review RETURN TO ME by Robin Lee Hatcher.

23. What was your favorite film of this year?

Again, this is hard to pick. I liked FACING THE GIANTS, THE LAST SIN EATER and AMAZING GRACE. I also liked STRANGER THAN FICTION and THE FREEDOM WRITERS.

24. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2007?

There are those in my family who would dispute that I have one. I guess I go for things that look good on me and are comfortable. That means I need long shirts in a world where the shirts are short. It’s a surprise to me that a LOT of my clothes are red, but it’s true.

25. What kept you sane?

My faith in God, who knows where I will end up and is patient with me when I try to push things and get there my way.

27. What political issue stirred you the most?

Again I would have to agree with Cindy and say it’s the presidential campaign because it requires much prayer.

1 Response to “About 2007”


  1. 1 Rachel January 3, 2008 at 8:32 pm

    Wow, what great questions! I don’t even know how I came across your blog but I can’t wait to dive in. Be blessed, Rachel


Leave a Reply

