Who Said That?

It is exam week at our high school, so I was in a different class than I normally am during announcements, a class where I could pay attention to them. Imagine what a pleasant surprise it was, then, for me to see these words scroll across the screen:

Weeping may endure for a night, but joy cometh in the morning.

I recognized the quote right away, and I thought (briefly), “Oh how nice! A quote from the Bible!”

Imagine my surprise, then, when the scrolling continued and I saw that the students had attributed the quote to George Weiss!

“No,” I thought,”certainly no one would plagiarize the Bible!”

I was wrong. This site is only one of many that attribute the above quote to George Weiss.

The teacher with whom I was working is a former reporter, and I told him it was his duty to point the error out to the teacher who runs the announcements and demand a correction. He just laughed.

So I’m here to set the record straight. According to my Bible, the above quote comes from Psalm 30:5. This was a psalm and song at the dedication of the house of David.

God knows what He said, and His Word does not return unto Him void, so I guess in the long run, the correction wouldn’t really matter.Tomorrow is the last day of school for a while, and who will remember? Just for my own peace of mind though, I think I will check on it anyway.

2 Responses to “Who Said That?”


  1. 1 Ron December 20, 2007 at 3:46 pm

    Look on the bright side … the kids got to hear a beautiful snippet of divine prose, something that would never have happened if the quote were attributed correctly.

  2. 2 Becky December 20, 2007 at 4:35 pm

    You’re right. That is the bright side.


Leave a Reply

