Menu Plan Monday, Dec. 3, 2007

 

Menu Plan Monday is hosted by Organizing Junkie.

Things didn’t go quite as planned this week, but they seldom do. The salmon casserole got moved back because we had leftover ham and pea soup and the hubby got invited to the railroad Christmas party, a wonderful gesture, I thought, so we went out on Saturday. Then there were the “disappointed about wood” nachos, but…maybe it’s better not to mention our slips.

I never did make the Sweet ‘n’ Spicy Pork Chops. I had a rutabaga that I wanted to use, so I made this Rutabaga Puff, which had to go in the oven. It actually was pretty good, much better than the Rutabagas with Dill Dressing that I tried a few weeks back. At the hubby’s request, though, I won’t be buying more rutabagas any time soon. I substituted Orange-Topped Chops, which I could cook on top of the stove, and they were pretty good.

I am finding that I really don’t mind this menu planning too much, although it does take a lot of time. I got out of the habit, I think, because of the hubby’s work schedule. When we were younger, I actually kept a price book. I shudder to think of how much we could have saved had I shopped and planned the last eight years the way I am doing now, but…the planning was really the issue. When the hubby was working, I could seldom plan.

Monday: Salmon Casserole

Tuesday: Chicken Pot Pie

Wednesday: Beef Stew; this is the hubby’s recipe, and I have no idea how he puts it together, but it is good!!

Thursday: Advent Soup Supper at church

Friday: Asparagus Ham Strata–Who says you can’t have breakfast for supper? And besides, asparagus pieces were on sale at Kroger, $1 a can!

Saturday: Tuna Potato Supper

Sunday: Meat Loaf

Great Meat Loaf

This recipe originally came from the book Love Hunger: Recovery from Food Addiction. I have a hard-backed book, copyrighted 1990. I have adapted the recipe to our family’s tastes.

2 lbs. ground turkey

Special K (use whatever you need to make the meat actually loaf)

4 egg whites

1 onion

2 tsp. salt

1/2 tsp. black pepper

1 tsp. ground mustard

2 tsp. ground sage

Combine tbe ground beef, Special K, eggs, onion, salt, pepper, mustard and sage. Mix well, preferable with hands. Shape into loaf and bake at 350 for 90 minutes. Check to make sure it’s done.

This recipe originally came with green bean sauce. The recipe is here.

Green Bean Sauce for Great Meat Loaf

2 c. V-8 Joice

1 T. flour

1 can green beans, finely chopped

1 t. salt

1/4 t. pepper

Place the V-8 juice, chopped green beans, salt and pepper in a saucepan. Dissolve the flour before heating. Simmer over low heat until thickened. Pour the sauce over meatloaf and serve.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

0 Responses to “Menu Plan Monday, Dec. 3, 2007”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

