Menu Plan Monday 11/26

mpm1.jpg

Menu Plan Monday is hosted by Organizing Junkie.

I am still finding it a struggle to work fish into our diets 2-3 times a week. If anyone has suggestions, I would be interested.

Monday: Dinner out with the Millers at Sirloin Stockade. The best part is that we won the dinner! 🙂

Tuesday: Ham and Pea Soup (recipe below)

Wednesday: Chicken Pot Pie

Thursday: Pine Nut Crusted Tilapia

Friday: Tuna Potato Supper

Saturday: Sweet ‘n’ Spicy Pork Chops*

Sunday: Salmon Casserole

Ham and Pea Soup

2 onions, chopped

1 c. celery, chopped

1 c. green pepper, chopped

1 chicken bouillon cube

4 c. potatoes, diced

3 T. Flour

1 t. Zesty Salt-free Seasoning

1/8 t. white pepper

1/2 t. black pepper

2 c. milk

1 c. chopped ham

1 c. frozen peas

In a Dutch oven, add water, bouillon, onion, celery and pepper. Cook 5 minutes. Add potatoes, cook twenty minutes more. Stir in flour, salt and peppers. Slowly add milk, half a cup at a time. Stir constantly. Heat through. Add ham and frozen peas. Heat ten minutes and serve.

*The Sweet ‘n’ Spicy Pork Chops recipe is from the Fall 2007 issue of Taste of Home’s Cooking for 2.

5 Responses to “Menu Plan Monday 11/26”


  1. 1 Ornery's Wife November 26, 2007 at 8:03 am

    When you figure out how to add fish in three times a week, let me know! I struggle with the same thing, although I confess, I’m not trying too hard! 🙂 My problem seems to be getting enough veggies in. I have the fruit down really well, and find I can contrive any number of ways to add fruit to meals I never thought about using it in before. The veggies just seem to require a lot more work. And the fish? I just plain don’t really care for it, so feel like I have really done well to eat it ONCE a week! We do take fish oil supplements, though.

    Hope you have a good week!
    TM

  2. 2 Natalie November 26, 2007 at 4:48 pm

    I don’t know about fitting more fish in, but I wish we could too. Have a good week!

  3. 3 Becky November 26, 2007 at 9:45 pm

    I am beginning to think that the fish oil supplements are the answer. There are only so many variations on a fish theme.

  4. 4 iluv2prshim November 29, 2007 at 1:42 pm

    I’m not good with the fish dinners either. I’m with you. Just take the supplements.
    The chicken pot pie sounds really good. I’ll have to try this one.
    Blessings

  5. 5 Rona November 29, 2007 at 11:51 pm

    Thanks for sharing the recipe. Sounds like it would be a winner in my house.


Leave a Reply

