Oh, the Holiday Memories!

The daughter and I were talking about Thanksgiving today. She is bringing pies, which is a good thing since the pie-making gene skipped me altogether.

The daughter likes to bake with her cousin, and she and I talked about an old Mirro Cookie Press (like the one shown here) that was my mother’s. I think my older sister took it home with her when Mom died. Anyway, as I said, the girls like to bake, so I told the daughter she should see if Lillie could find the cookie press and make some butter cookies like Mom made when I was growing up.

“Mom,” the daughter said. “I can buy you a cookie press. They’re ten dollars at Michael’s.”

“That’s not the point, ” I said.

“What?”

“The point, “I said, “is not that I need to eat butter cookies. Heaven knows I really don’t. The point is that I would get pleasure from eating some that you made with my mother’s cookie press.”

Why is it that Mom is near me more at the holidays?

In that vein, I thought I would share one of my mother’s Christmas cookie recipes. It’s not for cookie press cookies, but these were still pretty good.

CANDY CANE COOKIES

1 c. shortening (half butter)

1egg

1 t. vanilla

1 c. sifted powdered sugar

1 ½ t. almond flavoring

1 t. salt

½ t. red food coloring

2 ½ c. flour

Heat oven to 375 degrees.

Mix shortening, sugar, egg and flavorings well. Mix flour and salt and stir them in.

Divide the dough in half. Blend the red food coloring in one half.

Roll 1 t. each color dough on lightly floured board into a strip about 4” long. (Maybe that should be a T; I don’t know if a t. would make a 4” strip.)

Place strips side by side, press them lightly together and twist them like a rope.

Put on ungreased baking sheet (or parchment paper). Curve the top down for the handle of the cane.

Bake about 9 minutes or until lightly browned.

Remove while still warm. Sprinkle with a mixture of ½ c. crushed peppermint stick candy and ½ c. sugar.

9 Responses to “Oh, the Holiday Memories!”


  1. 1 Rochelle Ritzi November 19, 2007 at 9:52 am

    The holidays are always the days I seem to carry the memories of my grandmother a little closer. I also miss my family back in Indiana more. I always tell myself, “It’s just a day…” But there is something about THAT day that makes me want to be with family. Anyway… I get your point! 🙂

  2. 2 Rochelle Ritzi November 19, 2007 at 9:53 am

    Oh… btw, this sounds nummy!!

  3. 3 Lillie November 19, 2007 at 3:15 pm

    I know exactly where the cookie press is. However I don’t have the faintest clue what recipe Mom used to make them. Do you have it?

  4. 4 iluv2prshim November 19, 2007 at 4:16 pm

    This sounds yummy. Thanks for sharing.

  5. 5 Becky November 19, 2007 at 6:42 pm

    Rochelle and Rhonda: Thanks for your comments. The cookies were wonderful. And Rochelle, I’m glad I’m not alone with the missing, but aren’t we lucky to have memories to miss?

    And Lillie–there used to be an ancient recipe book in the cookie press box, but if it isn’t there, I think I found the right one on the Net. I am so glad you and Jill like to cook together! And I’m looking forward to seeing you!

  6. 6 writeathome November 20, 2007 at 1:37 am

    I have one of those Mirro cookie presses. My mother-in-law gave me hers probably ten years ago. I’ve actually only used it a couple of times. I love baking cookies, and I usually make the candy cane cookies every year. They taste wonderful, but sometimes they’re aggravating to make when it comes to the twisting part. I hope you and your family have a wonderful Thanksgiving.

  7. 7 Becky November 20, 2007 at 6:12 pm

    Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours as well, Carol.

  8. 8 Paul December 9, 2007 at 12:41 pm

    I have a cookie press and use it every year to make the cream cheese cookies( by the way I am ordered to make them) Mom and dad are now gone but that part of our childhood I still hold on to. It is a great cookie press and mom use to make cookies for every holiday when we were kids. all of the different shapes and a little food coloring.

  9. 9 Becky December 9, 2007 at 7:45 pm

    I am so surprised by the number of people for whom the cookie press brings up good memories. Bless you for carrying on the tradition!


Leave a Reply

