Things at School That Touched My Heart This Week

Thing One

The Problem Child, a senior, sat through a whole unit entitled “So I Have to Be a Grownup” and did…nothing. He knew I was frustrated. Yesterday, I walked in a room where he was sitting, and he said, “I didn’t do it!”

“Glad to hear it,” I replied.

His response was, “I’m a good kid. Really.”

That broke my heart. I do like the kid. His “special” teacher shared with me this morning that his male role model is his older brother, who is 25, dropped out of high school, has never held a job and still lives with mom. So if Problem Child graduates, he’ll be ahead. Changes it when you look at it that way.

Know how I know he cares? He found me third period to work on an assignment that is due tomorrow. That’s a LOT of effort for him.

Thing Two

The DECA chapter in our little school is overseeing the assembly of “WE CARE” boxes for the holidays. There are over 260 families in our little rural community who are in need of them.

When the project was explained in the senior class where I work, the kids really stepped up. They divided up the items in a box and began volunteering to bring them. A food box costs $80; a hygiene box $45. Many of these kids are working to help their parents pay the bills. They don’t have a lot of extra cash, but they are willing to share what they have. I wish the general public could see that.

Thing Three

There is an upperclassman in one of my classes who has faced some problems because he claims to be homosexual. He doesn’t have a lot of friends, and I don’t think his home life is very good. Today the kids had to recite part of a speech from Patrick Henry, the one that ends,”Give me liberty or give me death!” This boy, even though he is in choir was frightened. He asked me to stand in the back of the room so that, if he got scared he could look at me.

He doesn’t even know me, really. Nor do I know him. What have things come to that such a simple act can speak to a student?

2 Responses to “Things at School That Touched My Heart This Week”


  1. 1 writeathome November 16, 2007 at 11:45 pm

    Thank God for the little things that He uses to teach our hearts. It’s the little things that can really make a difference. Hope you have a wonderful weekend.

    Carol

  2. 2 Becky November 17, 2007 at 10:12 am

    Thanks, Carol. I hope your weekend is great as well.


Leave a Reply

