Veteran’s Day

A Proclamation by the President of the United States of America

Throughout our history, America has been protected by patriots who cherished liberty and made great sacrifices to advance the cause of freedom. The brave members of the United States Armed Forces have answered the call to serve our Nation, ready to give all for their country. On Veterans Day, we honor these extraordinary Americans for their service and sacrifice, and we pay tribute to the legacy of freedom and peace that they have given our great Nation.

 

–Opening Paragraph of President Bush’s Veteran’s Day Proclamation

I am sure I never even began to understand the sacrifices that military families make until I was the mother of a Marine. It is for this reason that I wish to thank my son and the others of my family who have served in the Armed Forces for their sacrifice.

–Both my father and my father-in-law served in the Navy during WWII. My father-in-law was on the U.S.S. Enterprise and was, at one point, considered lost at sea.

–Grandpa Tom, my husband’s step-grandfather, served with the Marines during the Korean War.

–My brother served in the Air Force in the mid-sixties.

–My husband’s older brother served with the Marines during the Viet Nam War and did three tours in Nam during that time.

–My cousin Buddy died in the Viet Nam War.

–My husband’s younger brother served with the Coast Guard.

–And finally my son served with the Marines from 2001-2005.

Thank you all for sacrificing to make this country a better, safer place.

[rockyou id=90521098&w=426&h=319]

0 Responses to “Veteran’s Day”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

