Bible Studies, Bracelets, Blenders and Middle Age

A couple of weeks ago, I signed up for Beth Moore’s Bible study, Believing God. I was all excited. I felt the need for some growth, and I couldn’t find a study in my area to attend. I read about Beth Moore on Robin Lee Hatcher’s Write Thinking, and Believing God seemed like the thing for me. I was curious, too, because Carol from She Lives left me a comment which said, “Believing God was really good. You simply must do the bracelet thing no matter how silly it may seem. (You’ll understand after the first video.)”

It was harder than I thought to get going. I don’t use my credit card on line very often, and I entered the expiration date incorrectly. For some reason, I couldn’t get signed up all weekend. Then, when I finally decided to start the study the next weekend, the website was down. I’m not complaining. I know websites need maintenance. Finally,  this week, I began.

And I like it. I like it even though I downloaded twenty-seven pages of homework. And I understood about the bracelet. The hubby and I went to the store and found a stretchy blue one that we thought would do the trick yesterday. Who knew I would make such use of it today?

See, today I tried to use my blender. Blenders and I have a history. To tell you the truth, I understood why they burnt out on me when I was making homemade peanut butter. And I got it when their plastic pitchers cracked when I tried to make soups. I started getting perturbed, though, when they couldn’t even make bread crumbs out of the heels I had so carefully saved in my efforts to be a good homemaker. Which is why the hubby bought me this one about six months ago. It’s called a Crush Master. It has a glass pitcher so that, theoretically, it will blend soups like the Carrot-Parsnip one I have had planned for later next week. ( I found out today that parsnips look like anemic carrots. But I digress.) And since the Crush Master can, at least theoretically, crush ice, the hubby figured it could handle anything that I put into it. Well…

I was just trying to make pesto. You know, with basil leaves? We are supposed to have a frost soon, and I found a pesto recipe that said I could freeze it, and… Anyway, the recipe took three tablespoons of warm water, three tablespoons of extra-virgin olive oil, pine nuts, garlic, Parmesan and basil leaves. How hard can that be for a Crush Master?

I knew as soon as I saw the little pieces of black plastic flying out from under the pitcher. It had happened again.

I tried to hold it together. I really did. I looked at my bracelet and did what I was supposed to do. Twice. But I ended up crying. (It’s been a long week.)

The hubby, being the wise man that he is, prayed with me. Then he put me in the car (I did mention that I like to cruise, didn’t I?) and we went looking for blender blades. To no avail. But we did look. The hubby bought me some dark chocolate and one of my fake Speedway decappucinos, too. We played oldies on the radio. We ran into one of my former students, who was glad to see me, and…the sun came out. Life was is better.

I remember when people used to blame a lot of emotional things on women in my time of life, and I hate to admit that sometimes I do get emotional. Over stupid stuff. Like blenders. But I’m so thankful for the Bible study, which meant I was wearing the bracelet and remembered what to do, and for a husband who prays with me (and takes me for rides) and for sunshine…

I think I might survive middle age after all.  With or without a blender.

1 Response to “Bible Studies, Bracelets, Blenders and Middle Age”


  1. 1 amy October 29, 2007 at 11:14 am

    ah, Pesto. You need a cuisinart. I dropped the top Saturday after our pesto marathon; I made 4 batches, the big ones in the cuisinart book; and it did nothing to it. the thing is tough as nails. and it will do hot stuff. and really hard stuff, just follow the directions, and I’ll bring you some of my frozen pesto.


Leave a Reply

