MYOB

That’s what the Still Small Voice whispered to me as I prayed. And it wasn’t the first time, either.

I had been praying about the daughter. She visited a few weeks ago. It is always good to have her and bittersweet when she leaves. She was leaving while I was at work, and I was talking to God about it.

What I said was, “… I don’t ask for things that are bad for her, do I?”

What I had asked for was that she could make a living with one job, not three. That she would meet “the one.” That she would get married and have babies like she wants to and live happily ever after. You’re supposed to be specific in your prayers, aren’t you? And none of those are bad things to ask for. Are they?

Nevertheless, what I heard was, “I’ve got it, Becky. Leave it up to me.”

I thought I had been.

Nevertheless, that Still Small Voice has persisted throughout the summer.

My friend Hannah told me a story a while ago about a random talk she had with a woman at a motel swimming pool. Hannah had been visiting her daughter; the woman was talking about hers.

As I remember, what the woman said was, “God told me that I shouldn’t live close to my daughter. That I would get in the way of what He has planned for her.”

I don’t think I am getting in the way physically the way this woman hinted she might be, but I have begun to wonder if I got in the way merely by the desires I have for my daughter. None of the things that I want for her are bad things. But maybe by hinting that the life she has isn’t good enough NOW, I am failing to recognize the beautiful person that she is. Now.

So I have begun to change my prayers, although I can’t honestly tell you I don’t want that job, that husband and those babies for my daughter. But the good Lord DOES love her more than I do. And I want what He wants for her more. My daughter is caring and kind. She loves the Lord. She has healing hands. She works hard. She’s a wonderful cook, and she has the gift of hospitality. Those things are important here. Now.

5 Responses to “MYOB”


  1. 1 Rochelle Ritzi October 21, 2007 at 8:44 am

    I love His still small voice. He is so good to us. And He really does have it all under control. (I seem to need to be reminded of this often!)

  2. 2 Becky October 21, 2007 at 9:44 am

    It is so nice to have a Father who talks to us, isn’t it? In theory, we listen better as we age…

    I tried to comment on your race entry yesterday, but for some reason it wasn’t going through. Congratulations! And I loved the pictures of the signs. 🙂

  3. 3 Ornery's Wife October 21, 2007 at 10:09 pm

    I, too, have been learning this in messages from my pastor. He has been preaching on force vs power. Force is when we try to manipulate circumstances to meet our goals or wishes. Power is when we allow God to work through and in us to accomplish HIS goals and wishes. Thanks for baring your heart here for us. I appreciate your honesty!
    TM

  4. 4 writeathome October 22, 2007 at 12:10 am

    Enjoyed this post. There are so many things I would like for my children too, but God really does know what is best for them, and it’s best for all involved to listen to His still, small voice.

  5. 5 Becky October 22, 2007 at 6:03 am

    TM, thanks for the thoughts from your pastor. It’s a lesson that bears repeating.

    Carol, I know you work hard to do what is best for your kids. Thanks for your reminder. I’m so glad He keeps talking until I finally hear!


Leave a Reply

