This ‘n That

The nephew and his lovely wife had baby Jack dedicated last Sunday in Ohio. I wish I had been there…

I saw this on a signboard in my town:

Talk is cheap unless Congress does it.

I would have to agree.

I have had a lot of good times both as a mom and a grandma. One of them was during the camping trip we took with the son and his family. The oldest grandson, not quite five at the time, fell asleep in my arms as he was counting stars. I don’t know if he will remember that, but I will!

A long time ago I read a book called HAPPINESS IS A CHOICE. I believe we make that choice every day, sometimes several times a day. This article states four things that happy people do:

1. They work their cell phones

2. Within reason, they express gratitude.

3. They’re randomly kind.

4. They reappraise their lives.

I’d like to add a fifth to that list. Happy people give thanks to God. A lot.

Before my cataract surgery, the hubby used to tell me he could see caterpillars crossing the road. Today, two years after the surgery, I actually saw one! It was black. Farmer lore says that means a hard winter….

I am flirting with what I weighed my senior year in high school. I am over six feet tall, and let’s just say it feels good to be this close to, umm…never mind. I can’t take all the credit, though. Some weight loss goes with RA, and I am losing slowly since the hubby is sticking to his weight-loss plan. Still, I never saw 14s or 16s before, not even as a girl, and I am beginning to think that a stretchy 12 is within reach!

I am thinking of taking a Beth Moore Bible study, the one entitled Believing God. I haven’t been able to find a good weekly Bible study near our home. I think I need to socialize, but I know I need more Bible study!

The lawn awaits. It is over 90 degrees in Indiana, highly unusual for the 6th of October. Still, I’d better get busy!

7 Responses to “This ‘n That”


  1. 1 Aurora October 6, 2007 at 3:32 pm

    Congrats to your family on new baby! Thats wonderful news. Unfortunately the server that had been hosting my website decided to suspend operations, leaving me without my blog until further notice. The friend that has worked as my webmaster is hoping we can somehow recover the site, or at least the info. Please pray that is possible. Until then, I am back here on wordpress.

    Have a blessed week,

    Aurora

  2. 2 Becky October 6, 2007 at 3:41 pm

    Thanks for letting me know. May God bless your week as well.

  3. 3 Rochelle Ritzi October 6, 2007 at 11:37 pm

    Congrats on the baby dedication. Sorry you couldn’t be there. I miss living close to family during those times!

  4. 4 Becky October 7, 2007 at 5:58 am

    Jack’s mom and dad read my blog, so they will see your good wishes. Thank you. It would be so nice if families could live close to one another!

  5. 5 Shirley October 7, 2007 at 11:29 pm

    Becky, I loved the vision of your grandson going to sleep in your arms as he counted the stars. Priceless, I tell you. Keep reminding him so he will remember that beautiful time.

    Bless you always,

    shirley Buxton
    http://www.shirleybuxton.wordpress.com

  6. 6 Carol October 7, 2007 at 11:35 pm

    Believing God was really good. You simply must do the bracelet thing no matter how silly it may seem. (You’ll understand after the first video.)

    I wish I’d at least made 5’10”. Six feet sounds so glamorous!

    Enjoy those caterpillars!

  7. 7 Becky October 8, 2007 at 5:35 am

    Shirley, I will make sure to tell RJ. I have seen what you post about your grandchildren. It’s so nice to be blessed with them, isn’t it?

    Carol, you have intrigued me about the Bible study. I think I will register when I get home from work tonight. Bracelet thing? I like six feet now, but it was hard in the sixties. And I hope I never get over the way I can see now, caterpillars and all. God is so good!


Leave a Reply

