I AM, Lesson 2…Beautiful to God

I have found myself anxious to get back to this Bible study as I pondered on its message. Why would someone want to stay in a land of slavery, like Egypt, when she could have the Promised Land. If I am to be truthful, I am afraid that I find myself more like Martha, busy with the things of this world in the order that I perceive they need doing, or like Jonah…obedient, but reluctant. Some of the responses to Lesson 1 that I read were really humbling for me.

Here are my answers to the questions for Lesson 2:

  • What is your initial response when anyone suggests you are beautiful?
  • I would have to agree with what was said in the Bible study.  Especially when my husband says that I’m beautiful, I tell him that he is biased.  I find that I respond differently when my grandsons tell me I’m pretty, though.  They are still young enough that they ARE looking at my spirit, and their comments touch me deeply.
  • Do you find you engage in a lot of negative ‘self-talk’? How much of your thought life does this form of thinking consume?
  • I don’t think I engage in a LOT of negative self-talk, but I do so sometimes.  Doesn’t everybody?  The older I get, the easier it is to stop myself.  When I am thinking in such a way, I know it’s time to get my eyes off ME.  I don’t have an estimate of how much of my time is spent in this way.  I just know that it’s less than it was when I was younger.
  • Has it ever occurred to you that you are a City Girl? How do you plan to use this knowledge?
  • It has occurred to me often that Heaven is my home.  I do try to live my life as if I have a bigger purpose than amassing things here on earth.  I try to use this knowledge to examine my purposes and reactions, to see if they are what I think God would want them to be.
  • In what ways has your view of Godly beauty changed as a result of these Scriptures?
  • I guess I never thought about Moses’s being beautiful even as a baby and its being his beauty which may have drawn Pharoah’s daughter. These Scriptures, especially the last part of Psalm 149:4, are a reminder that, no matter how I feel, I am always beautiful in God’s sight.
0 Responses to “I AM, Lesson 2…Beautiful to God”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

