Quotes That Spoke to Me Today

First I’ll give you the quotes, and then I will tell you why I needed them.

A man can do nothing better than to eat and drink and find satisfaction in his work. This too, I see, is from the hand of God, for without him, who can eat or find enjoyment? To the man who pleases Him, God gives wisdom, knowledge and happiness, but to the sinner he gives the task of gathering and storing up wealth to hand it over to the one who pleases God. This too is meaningless, a chase after the wind.

–Ecclesiastes 2:24-26

There is a God-shaped vacuum in the heart of every man which cannot be filled by any created thing, but only by God the Creator.

–Blaise Pascal

Hope is the companion of power, and mother of success; for who so hopes strongly has within him the gift of miracles.

–Samuel Smiles

These quotes come from Walt Larrimore’s book, 10 ESSENTIALS OF HIGHLY HEALTHY PEOPLE. I bought it a while ago when I figured out that an imminent cure for arthritis or a remission of MY arthritis didn’t appear to be on the horizon. I wanted hope. I wanted to be the best kind of Christian with a chronic disease that I could be. Larrimore’s point is that whether you are sick or fit, you can take steps toward being as healthy as possible.

Let me make this clear. I don’t really think of myself as sick, but I do acknowledge that the RA, on occasion, interferes with the way I want to live my life. In particular, I HATE taking medicine, but, since I would not be mobile without it…

Anyway…the rheumatologist prescribed yet another medicine this morning and wrote his yearly renewals. As he handed them to my hubby, he said, “Do you need a computer program to keep track of all her meds?”

GRRRRRR!!!!! I know it was a husband to husband joke, but still!!!

Then I remembered. Evidently, God doesn’t have a problem with my having this disease. He wants me to serve Him THROUGH it. And I can. He can give me the knowledge, the strength and the hope that I need. Having a chronic disease does NOT mean that one cannot please God or be useful. It just means you have to be a little more creative about it. I’m working toward the standard mentioned by the gifted hymn writer, Fanny Crosby, that being perfect submission— but I have a ways to go.

Perfect submission, all is at rest
I in my Savior am happy and blest,
Watching and waiting, looking above,
Filled with His goodness, lost in His love.

–Fanny Crosby

 

3 Responses to “Quotes That Spoke to Me Today”


  1. 1 titus2woman July 22, 2007 at 8:17 pm

    I have heard sooo many great things about this book! I’ll hafta add it to my ever-growing wishlist~LOL!

    I have ready the entire first page of your blog and been blessed, blessed, blessed! Thank you for sharing soo much of your heart. My mind is too full to comment on any one thing! LOL! (((((HUGS))))) sandi

  2. 2 Shirley July 23, 2007 at 1:09 am

    Dear Becky,

    As I read this post tonight, I was struck by your honesty and your courage. I decided years ago that life is not fair–some people are healthy and things seem to break for them, and others struggle with challenges such as yours.

    It’s attitude that makes the difference though, and your wonderful God-fearing attitude certainly shines through tonight. Oh, I know you’re human, and you will have down days and discouraging moments, and times of doubt and fear. But you are God’s faithful child and you will persevere.

    I’m praying for you tonight.

    Shirley Buxton
    http://www.shirleybuxton.wordpress.com

  3. 3 Becky July 23, 2007 at 7:13 am

    Dear Shirley and Sandi,

    THANK YOU for your kind words and prayers.They help a lot! 🙂


Leave a Reply

