Temptation and Forgiveness

My daughter-in-law told me when we picked RJ up on Friday that, when he was reprimanded for doing something he shouldn’t have done, he told her that the devil had tempted him.  His sensitive spirit has often moved me, so that didn’t surprise me, although I think that reasoning is beyond many kids who are not quite five.

On Sunday in church, RJ drew a heart for Grandpa because he had given his heart to Jesus.  Then he drew a big X and told Grandpa that he had Xed the devil out of his life.  Our service was particularly long and ended with a laying on of hands for our pastor and his wife as they prepared to leave for a mission trip to India.  I took the boys out while Grandpa went forward.

As I was strapping them into their car seats, RJ said, “Grandma, does the devil ever tempt you to do bad things?”

“Sure does, ” I replied.  I was busy buckling his brother’s belt.

“Well,” he said.  “What do you do wrong?”

Ahem.  “Sometimes,” I said, “I grouch at Grandpa even though he is being nice.”

RJ was quiet for a moment.  Then he said, “Well, Grandma, what do you do to make it better?

“I ask Jesus to forgive me,”I replied.  “And I ask him to help me be nice to Grandpa.”

His little face was solemn and he thought for what felt like a long time.  Then he said, “That’s what I’ll do.  I’ll forgive Jesus and then I won’t do bad things any more.”

Yeah, I know.  He didn’t get the words exactly right.  I am convinced, though, that RJ’s heart was in the right place.

A lady I worked with once told me she had a word from the Lord that I would be particularly blessed by my grandchildren.  I didn’t take her too seriously then as neither of the kids had married.  But now…I don’t see how ANY grandmother could spend time with grandchildren and NOT be blessed in some way.  Those little boys give me new and humbling  insight every time I see them.

3 Responses to “Temptation and Forgiveness”


  1. 1 writeathome July 17, 2007 at 9:51 pm

    Your grandson sounds like he has a heart that’s tender toward God. That’s wonderful to see in young children, and may he keep that sensitivity as he grows older. Thanks for sharing.

    Carol

  2. 2 Tena July 20, 2007 at 12:04 pm

    Oh, I really enjoyed this post, Becky.:) I love little children and I know I’m going to have a blast with my grandkids – but, my kids need to get married first. 😀
    Have a great day with Jesus! Love you!

  3. 3 Becky July 21, 2007 at 2:32 pm

    Tena, grandparenting is as special as everyone told me it was. I can see that you enjoy your kids, so the grandkids are sure to be blessed. 🙂


Leave a Reply

