Under What?

We took Tony, the youngest grandson, to see RATATOUILLE yesterday. During the previews, we saw one for UNDERDOG. Now, I liked the UNDERDOG cartoons as a child, but the preview sort of gave me the creeps. This is the reason: at one point, the preview says, “One nation…under dog.” Two Bible verses immediately came to my mind:

Exodus 3:17 You shall have no other gods before me

and

Exodus 20: 4-6

4 “You shall not make for yourself an idol in the form of anything in heaven above or on the earth beneath or in the waters below. 5 You shall not bow down to them or worship them; for I, the LORD your God, am a jealous God, punishing the children for the sin of the fathers to the third and fourth generation of those who hate me, 6 but showing love to a thousand {generations} of those who love me and keep my commandments.

The bolded stuff above is something to which we should pay attention, I think. I’m not particularly afraid of having movies deal with God. I have to admit that I watched BRUCE ALMIGHTY under duress. I had to concede that it had a good message, but I think something like the UNDERDOG slogan desensitizes our children, and I think God will hold us responsible for that. Children repeat pretty much everything they hear, and while I don’t think many of them understand what it means to be one nation under GOD, I believe we should let them know instead of desensitizing the phrase for them.

We have enough to worry about when it comes to desensitization anyway. Today, according to this article, the Senate opened with a HINDU prayer, the first time such a prayer has been used since the beginning of the Senate in 1789. Rajad Zed offered the prayer, and he planned to use references from at least three Hindu scriptures. Although Zed promises that his prayer will be universal in approach, our God is a jealous God, and I do not believe He will hear a prayer that is not directed to HIM.

So…what’s a Christian to do? One thing, I think, is to e-mail or call their senators to express their dissatisfaction with a Hindu prayer when this nation was obviously not founded with Hindu gods in mind. We are called to be the light and salt of the world, and I think that injunction requires us to let our elected representatives know if we think what they are doing is wrong. We can also let our film makers know that we object to anything that belittles the name of our God. And finally we can pray for our elected officials, for their salvation if they do not know Jesus Christ as their personal Savior and for courage for them to stand up for what they believe in if they do.

Matthew 5:13-16

You are the salt of the earth. But if the salt loses its saltiness, how can it be made salty again? It is no longer good for anything, except to be thrown out and trampled by men.

“You are the light of the world. A city on a hill cannot be hidden. Neither do people light a lamp and put it under a bowl. Instead they put it on its stand, and it gives light to everyone in the house. In the same way, let your light shine before men, that they may see your good deeds and praise your Father in heaven.

 

Leave a Reply

