Panama City Beach


A lot of things happened the year I turned ten. I spent time in West Virginia without my family. My paternal grandparents moved to Florida. And my family took off to Florida to visit them and to see my brother, who was stationed at Tyndall Air Force Base.

My brother is eleven years older than I am and was my hero, so I was dismayed when we arrived in Florida and I was sick. My brother was able to join us and he, with my parents and my two sisters, went on to the beach. I was left alone in the motel. I know you wouldn’t do that with a ten year old nowadays, but it didn’t seem to be unusual at the time.

I’m sure my parents told me to stay INSIDE the room, but of course, it was Florida. And warm. And having always been a reader, I remember taking a book outside and sitting in a lounge under the palm trees, reading.

I think I saw the same motel we stayed at on 231 when the hubby and I were entering town on this trip. It looked right, but it was closed and all broken down. The street was busy–four-laned–but I bet it wasn’t forty-two years ago!

Anyway. I have looked at the pictures of my family on the beach for a long time. My little sister was only three, and looks remarkably like her daughter. My older sister wore the only two-piece I think any woman in our family has ever worn. And my brother, like I said, was my hero. And then there are the white sands. I have always wanted to see them, just because everyone thought they were so pretty.

Although it’s been forty-two years since I saw the first pictures of this beach, it really did live up to my expectations. People we passed told us that beaches to the north were nicer and more family-friendly, but I waited a long time to wade in the Gulf of Mexico, and I finally got the chance.

I was happy.

3 Responses to “Panama City Beach”


  1. 1 The Nephew June 12, 2007 at 12:17 am

    That’s an awesome picture, Aunt Becky! I hope the rest of the trip was excellent as well.

  2. 2 writeathome June 12, 2007 at 1:20 pm

    That beach looks beautiful. I could really go for putting my feet in some wet sand right now. 🙂

  3. 3 Becky June 12, 2007 at 2:19 pm

    I th0ught it was beautiful, too, Carol. And I was ten again for a minute with my feet in the sand! And Nephew, more on the trip will be coming shortly.


Leave a Reply

