Eight Random Things about Me

Sandi from Always a Work in Progress tagged me. Here goes:

1. When we first moved to Indiana, I ended up teaching visually impaired children instead of teaching English. I was appalled at first, but I really think special education is my niche.

2. For some reason, I have rapport with high school children with problems. I don’t know why. Sometimes I think it’s because they need someone to love them…

3. I have a daughter-in-law who loves me and tells me so. I know that is a blessing.

4. I reconnected with my cousin Denise after not hearing from her in more than thirty years. I can’t tell you how nice that is and how much we have reminisced and shared family stories.

5. I loved the parks out west. We went to Yosemite and Yellowstone. But my favorite park is Oak Openings in northwest Ohio, and the hubby took me there for Mother’s Day. Oak Openings is an oak savanna, and its habitat has been declared as rare as that of the rain forest. I don’t know exactly what it is about that park, but it feeds my soul.

6. I used to home can foods. A lot. At one point in Ohio, our shelves were filled with over 250 jars of home-canned beans, peaches, pears, beets and relishes. I learned how to can from my mom. I didn’t really like all the work that went into it at first, but the whole family enjoyed the food and how pretty it looked in the jars.

7. I like wind chimes. I have some on my front porch and in back of the house, and there are smaller versions inside. Their music is so restful…

8. I get to review a book by Robin Lee Hatcher, RETURN TO ME. Ms. Hatcher offered the opportunity to review the book on her blog a while back, and I sent her my information, but when I didn’t hear anything, I figured I wasn’t selected. However–the book arrived on Thursday. I am so excited! Not only do I get the chance to sort of officially review a book (the review will be on my blog, Amazon.com and Christianbook.com), but I got a free copy of the book before it was even officially released. Thank you, Robin Lee!

And now I’m off to Ohio to visit the son and his family. Hope everyone has a great weekend!

4 Responses to “Eight Random Things about Me”


  1. 1 titus2woman May 19, 2007 at 10:35 am

    Now THAT’S the way to tell 8 things about yerself! Ya put me to shame!

  2. 2 Acceptance-with-Joy May 20, 2007 at 9:29 am

    I linked into your blog while random clicking on CWO. Sandi is one of my friends from homeschoolblogger.

    [I have rapport with high school children with problems.] Blessings. I have a daughter who would have done anything to get to your class and connect with someone who could understand her…

  3. 3 writeathome May 20, 2007 at 11:51 pm

    Hi Becky,

    I subsituted for Special Ed. a couple of times when we lived in New York, and I really enjoyed it.

    I’ve never been to Oak Openings in Ohio, but I have been to Yosemite many times and just love it. My husband’s cousin from New York came and visited us last summer, and one of the places we took her was to Yosemite. To me, it’s one of the most beautiful places on earth.

    I enjoyed reading your eight random things. If I ever get to Indiana, I think it would be fun to meet you. Congratulations on getting selected to review the book too!

    Carol

  4. 4 Aurora May 21, 2007 at 2:51 pm

    I haven’t been here in awhile, but wanted to let you know that I’m ok, and things are going a bit better. I always have enjoyed stopping in here to read occasionally. By the way, yes I agree with what you said about Oak Openings, I actually considered having a wedding there at one point, it is quite lovely.


Leave a Reply

