A Glitch in the Plans

In his heart a man plans his course,
but the LORD determines his steps.

—Proverbs 16:9

 

We thought we had planned everything so well, looked into every possible scenario.

 

Evidently not.

 

Two weeks into retirement, we found out that if the hubby takes a job that pays into Social Security before he is sixty, I will lose my portion of the retirement benefit that he worked so hard to get. I swear we asked this question; we did not get complete information. And my portion, over–I hope–twenty or more years, is too big to give up. What started setting off warning bells was little pieces of information that we had gleaned from several sources. We put them all together and did not find what we expected.

 

So… what does this mean? Maybe something good. The hubby could work up something in consulting. He has a wealth of experience in construction, rehab, crossings…you name it. He can be self-employed or work for another railroad. Like I said, he doesn’t hate the job. He just actually needed to rest. We had thought that he couldn’t work in his area of expertise, but evidently this is not the case. This option, however, might take some time to bear fruit.

 

In the meantime, though, our purse strings will be, um….tight. Tighter than we had planned. That’s not my biggest concern, though. My biggest concern is that the hubby likes to be busy, and I wonder what will happen when he gets bored with my “honey-do” list. Although, to be truthful, he hasn’t even made it to my list yet. He is completing things that he has wanted to do for a long time. Nevertheless, he’s fifty-six, and sixty looks like it’s a long way away.

 

That’s why the verse from Proverbs I quoted above brings me such comfort. The hubby and I researched and researched. Neither of us are stupid. Like I said, we thought we had every eventuality covered. But God knew better. I am convinced that through this, the hubby and I will end up where we are supposed to be and doing what we are supposed to be doing. And happier than we are right now.

 

I sure didn’t see this coming. But I’m glad Someone did. I always knew retirement would be an adventure!

0 Responses to “A Glitch in the Plans”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

