Disturbing

Yesterday, my friend Jackie in Ohio sent me a link about a public high school in New Jersey that held a terrorist drill with CHRISTIAN terrorists. I didn’t believe it, so I got on the net to look for more info. Sure enough, I found some, although not in main stream media. I did find something by Michelle Malkin, though, and I think she’s a pretty reliable source. According to her, the terrorists were portrayed as Christian fundamentalists who did not believe in the separation of church and state. And the reason for their actions? The daughter of one of the men had been expelled for praying before class.

According to Malkin, this is not the first time such a scenario has been staged. The last was three years ago in Muskegon County, Michigan. The terrorists? Wackos against Schools and Education, who believe everyone should be homeschooled.Now, I will admit to you that I often skip the evening news, but still…I am betting that this earlier instance didn’t make it into mainstream media either.

Personally, I am sort of tired of Christians being portrayed as wackos. Some of the kids at school throw up their hands when describing people, saying things like, “Well, they’re full-blown Christians. They’re all like that.” The kids listen when I tell them that I am a Christian, too. But I don’t think it changes their mental image of things much.

Then today, on a trip to Indianapolis, the hubby and I saw this sign. You know how people have signs on their lawns about the Ten Commandments? This was a similar sign, and it quoted Scripture. But what it said, citing II Samuel 1:26 was this: David loved Jonathan better than a woman. And it gave a website to visit: wouldJesusdiscriminate.com.

Initially I didn’t go to the website.  Then I went to make sure of my wording.  Wouldn’t want to misquote anyone.  But I am disturbed by the sign. I don’t think Jesus would discriminate per se, but He would call a sin a sin. And I don’t see how somebody could quote this verse, apparently in favor of homosexuality and ignore all the other references the Bible has that are against sodomy. Besides. the verse is taken out of context. David and Jonathan were friends. David was on the run for his life for a while and probably quite thankful to have that friendship.

I saw this same logic used on a comment made here. The commenter uses references from the story of Ruth to back up a claim that the Bible refers to gay people in a positive way. Once again, in my opinion, the passage has been taken out of context. Ruth and Naomi were friends. Maybe the reason Ruth chose to stay with Naomi after she was widowed instead of returning to her home was that Naomi had been more friend to her than anyone at home ever had.

I heard somebody say once that you have to look at the Bible as a whole instead of just taking pieces out of it. They likened it to looking in a mirror. If you look in a cracked mirror, you don’t get a true reflection. Those who take the Bible out of context don’t know the whole story, so in my opinion, their interpretation is flawed. They need to know the story, including the Author. Only then can they get the true picture.

For the record, I don’t know any Christian terrorists. I do know some Christian sinners, and I number myself with them. The Bible says that we all have sinned and fallen short of the glory of God (Romans 3:23). I believe that homosexuality is a sin, but no worse than lying. Or murder. It’s just another way that human beings fall short.

Both of these instances are sad statements about our society. We have adopted the idea that there is no right or wrong, and anyone (like a Christian) who believes that there is becomes a target for criticism and ridicule. I think we ought to return to the Word of God and let it convict us. Hebrews 4:12 says this:

For the word of God is living and active. Sharper than any double-edged sword, it penetrates even to dividing soul and spirit, joints and marrow; it judges the thoughts and attitudes of the heart.

For my part, I am going to pray both for the people who organized those terrorist drills and for the people who put up those signs. Maybe they are being convicted. Maybe that’s why they feel the need to misread the Bible or run down those who do believe in what it says.

5 Responses to “Disturbing”


  1. 1 Shirley April 19, 2007 at 1:50 pm

    Thank you for this tiimely and accurate post. Thank you too for the link to my site.

    Blessings,

    Shirley
    http://www.shirleybuxton.wordpress.com

  2. 2 writeathome April 19, 2007 at 10:03 pm

    Becky,

    Do you ever wonder how America got the way it is now, with things such as homosexuality and abortion being deemed as acceptable and often heroic? I’m reading a book called The Marketing Of Evil by David Kupelian that deals with this and a lot of other things that are evil that marketers have cleverly “sold” to the American public. I would highly recommend this book.

  3. 3 Becky April 20, 2007 at 5:53 am

    Sounds like an interesting book, Carol. I will have to see if our local library can get it for me. And I do wonder sometimes how people came to accept things that used to be termed sinful.

  4. 4 Bil Browning April 20, 2007 at 2:46 pm

    Now wait a minute… Homosexuality is evil? As in Satan? That’s a pretty harsh comparison. In the author’s post she compared the sin to lying. Is lying “evil?” Bad, certainly… But, “evil?” Evil is 9/11. Evil is Virginia Tech. Two people loving each other and building a life together isn’t evil. You may disagree with their choice of partner (haven’t we all disagreed with one family member or another who chooses a loser to marry or shack up with?) but do we call them “evil” for it?

    That, my friend, is extremism. Because, remember that the same chapter of the Bible that says homosexuality is “an abomination” also says no shellfish, no shaving your beard, women aren’t allowed in church (because they’re unable to control their emotions), you can have more than one spouse, and that disobedient children should be stoned to death. Now that’s reading the Bible as a whole… Would the previous poster consider closing all Red Lobsters and brand them “evil?” So why do it with gay people?

  5. 5 writeathome April 23, 2007 at 12:13 am

    Bill,

    I don’t wish to be offensive but only to share some of what I have learned that the Bible
    has to say on the subjects of homosexuality and lying that you have mentioned here. What really matters the most is how God sees these issues, and I believe we can discover that through reading and studying the Bible. In I Corinthians, homosexuality is one of the practices listed that keep people from entering the kingdom of God.

    1Corinthians 6:9 Do you not know that the unrighteous and the wrongdoers will not inherit or have any share in the kingdom of God? Do not be deceived (misled): neither the impure and immoral, nor idolaters, nor adulterers, nor those who participate in homosexuality,
    6:10 Nor cheats (swindlers and thieves), nor greedy graspers, nor drunkards, nor foulmouthed revilers and slanderers, nor extortioners and robbers will inherit or have any share in the kingdom of God.

    As far as lying goes, many people feel that it’s not really that big of deal, but again, I believe it is really God’s estimation of it, that we can find through the reading of His Word, that really matters.

    Revelation 21:8 But the fearful, and unbelieving, and the abominable, and murderers, and whoremongers, and sorcerers, and idolaters, and all liars, shall have their part in the lake which burneth with fire and brimstone: which is the second death.

    According to the Bible, Satan has everything to do with lying, as he is the one that told the first lie in Genesis chapter 3. Jesus even calls satan the father of lies in the New Testament.

    Joh 8:44 Ye are of your father the devil, and the lusts of your father ye will do. He was a murderer from the beginning, and abode not in the truth, because there is no truth in him. When he speaketh a lie, he speaketh of his own: for he is a liar, and the father of it.

    I never see homosexuality referred to in the Bible as” two people loving each other and building a life together.” That sounds more like what God instituted in the Garden of Eden when He created Adam and Eve.

    Genesis 2:21 And the LORD God caused a deep sleep to fall upon Adam, and he slept: and he took one of his ribs, and closed up the flesh instead thereof;
    2:22 And the rib, which the LORD God had taken from man, made he a woman, and brought her unto the man.
    2:23 And Adam said, This is now bone of my bones, and flesh of my flesh: she shall be called Woman, because she was taken out of Man.
    2:24 Therefore shall a man leave his father and his mother, and shall cleave unto his wife: and they shall be one flesh.

    I did not say in my comment above that gay people are evil. I did mention that homosexuality is now portrayed in our society as acceptable and sometimes as heroic. I don’t believe in the light of Scripture that it is a lifestyle that is acceptable to God.

    Also, I’m not sure what chapter in the Bible you are talking about that mentions homosexuality being an abomination along with prohibiting shellfish, shaving of beards and keeping women out of church. I found Leviticus 18:22 dealing with homosexuality, but I see nothing else in this chapter dealing with the other things mentioned.

    Once again, I’m not deliberately trying to be offensive, but I am just giving my viewpoint on the subject matter as far as I see it in the light of Scripture.


Leave a Reply

