Twenty Days

It’s a good thing the hubby doesn’t read my blog. He will listen to any post I want to read him when I ask for an opinion, but to my knowledge he has never read it otherwise.

See, the whole retirement thing got a lot more real yesterday. I got home to find a message from the man who is my husband’s best employee asking what I thought the hubby would want as a retirement present.

So I asked. I teased him a little and told him maybe they could bronze his steel-toed work boots. He wasn’t up for that, and he thought for a loooooooong time before he answered me. Then he said he wanted a pair of striped bibs with an engineer’s hat to go with.

See, he has this pair of bibs that he wore the day he started on the railroad. They are patched, shall we say….strategically. And it has been his goal to wear them on his last day of the railroad, too. But then what?

I called the guy back and told him. I honestly don’t know if you can actually find striped bibs for adults all that easily, but I know that he will try.

How do you sum up a thirty-four-year career with a thing?

3 Responses to “Twenty Days”


  1. 1 iluv2prshim April 11, 2007 at 3:08 am

    Awwwww….this is very touching. If he does get the striped bibs please show us a picture. And Happy Retirement!

  2. 2 writeathome April 11, 2007 at 12:38 pm

    I hope they do find those striped bibs. Are they having a retirement party for him?

  3. 3 Becky April 11, 2007 at 4:55 pm

    I hope they are having a party, Carol. There has been a shake-up in upper management, and there’s no one to tell the right hand what to do. I have been praying about it, and I told the guy who called me about the bibs.


Leave a Reply

