Good Friday Things

THE OLD RUGGED CROSS

–words and music by George Bennard

On a hill far away stood an old rugged cross,
The emblem of suffering and shame;
And I love that old cross where the dearest and best
For a world of lost sinners was slain.

Refrain

So I’ll cherish the old rugged cross,
Till my trophies at last I lay down;
I will cling to the old rugged cross,
And exchange it some day for a crown.

O that old rugged cross, so despised by the world,
Has a wondrous attraction for me;
For the dear Lamb of God left His glory above
To bear it to dark Calvary.

Refrain

In that old rugged cross, stained with blood so divine,
A wondrous beauty I see,
For ’twas on that old cross Jesus suffered and died,
To pardon and sanctify me.

Refrain

To the old rugged cross I will ever be true;
Its shame and reproach gladly bear;
Then He’ll call me some day to my home far away,
Where His glory forever I’ll share.

Refrain-

GO TO DARK GETHSEMANE

–words by James Montgomery

–music by Richard Redhead

1.	Go to dark Gethsemane,
	ye that feel the tempter's power;
	your Redeemer's conflict see,
	watch with him one bitter hour.
	Turn not from his griefs away;
	learn of Jesus Christ to pray. 

2.	See him at the judgment hall,
	beaten, bound, reviled, arraigned;
	O the wormwood and the gall!
	O the pangs his soul sustained!
	Shun not suffering, shame, or loss;
	learn of Christ to bear the cross. 

3.	Calvary's mournful mountain climb;
	there, adoring at his feet,
	mark that miracle of time,
	God's own sacrifice complete.
	"It is finished!" hear him cry;
	learn of Jesus Christ to die. 

4.	Early hasten to the tomb
	where they laid his breathless clay;
	all is solitude and gloom.
	Who has taken him away?
	Christ is risen! He meets our eyes;
	Savior, teach us so to rise.

BENEATH THE CROSS OF JESUS

–text by Elizabeth C. Clephane

–music by Frederick C. Maker

1.	Beneath the cross of Jesus
	I fain would take my stand,
	the shadow of a mighty rock
	within a weary land;
	a home within the wilderness,
	a rest upon the way,
	from the burning of the noontide heat,
	and the burden of the day. 

2.	Upon that cross of Jesus
	mine eye at times can see
	the very dying form of One
	who suffered there for me;
	and from my stricken heart with tears
	two wonders I confess:
	the wonders of redeeming love
	and my unworthiness. 

3.	I take, O cross, thy shadow
	for my abiding place;
	I ask no other sunshine than
	the sunshine of his face;
	content to let the world go by,
	to know no gain nor loss,
	my sinful self my only shame,
	my glory all the cross.

 

 

2 Responses to “Good Friday Things”


  1. 1 writeathome April 6, 2007 at 6:44 pm

    I have always loved The Old Rugged Cross, but I am not familiar with the other 2 songs. The words are great. Isn’t it sad how so many churches do not sing the hymns anymore. I like a lot of modern day praise and worship songs, but to be honest, they lack the depth of the old hymns. Sometimes those old hymns have a way of coming back to my mind when I need them the most.

  2. 2 Becky April 7, 2007 at 7:54 am

    I couldn’t agree with you more. I like Christian rock, but it is the old hymns that comfort me.

    Have you seen these books: http://www.gnpcb.org/sites/hymns.for.kids/

    I started buying the collections for the kids that I love, nieces, nephews and grandbabies, because I was/am afraid the old hymns would get lost.

    Have a blessed Easter, Carol.


Leave a Reply

