The Grandsons and the Coin Jar

At the end of one of her e-mails a couple of days ago, the daughter-in-law told me to ask my son about the boys and his coin jar. I have shared the story about RJ, who is now four, and his experimentation with the shredder, so I wasn’t really sure that I wanted to ask, but I talked to the son last night and he shared.

It seems that RJ has discovered that money has value. He picks up change that he finds and keeps it in his piggy bank for pretzels at Sam’s Club. Evidently, his little mind was working overtime. Maybe he figured he had found an easy way to get more pretzels. Anyway, the son has this jar into which he throws his spare change, and he found RJ and his little brother, piggy-banks in hand. emptying the jar.

I know I shouldn’t have, but I laughed. Then I asked the son what he did.

He emptied their money back into his jar, upon which RJ promptly had a fit because part of that was his money. And in an effort to teach the boys that you have to work for money, the son and daughter-in-law decided to give them an allowance. RJ’s is a quarter a day if he does all his chores, and the son says he even volunteers for things like sweeping with the Shark. And two-year-old Tony gets a dime a day if he remembers to throw things away, which the son says is sometimes too much for him.

He’ll learn. Both of the boys will.

I am so glad that my son and his wife see the humor in some of the things the boys do! And I applaud their solution. But the Grandpa and I are just impressed with how times have changed. We both remember getting a quarter a week for an allowance. And we felt rich.

2 Responses to “The Grandsons and the Coin Jar”


  1. 1 Andy April 6, 2007 at 1:05 pm

    lol – and we know why they don’t get paid a buck for doing something 😉

  2. 2 Becky April 6, 2007 at 1:48 pm

    Believe me, I take this seriously. I am glad the son and family are visiting for Easter, but MY coin jar is safely hidden! 🙂

    Happy Easter to you and your family, Andy.


Leave a Reply

