He Went and Did It

The hubby announced his retirement yesterday. He plans his last day of work for the railroad to be April 30.

As I have mentioned before, he doesn’t want to quit working. He just wants to work, say, forty hours a week instead of the sixty to eighty, not counting being on call, that he averages now.

I have been looking forward to his announcement with fear and trembling but, surprisingly or maybe not, I find that I have been covered with what I believe is the “peace that passes understanding.” Although the hubby and I have prayed for guidance as to where we should live and where he should apply for a job for almost a year now, no course has become clear. Yet I am NOT worried at this point.

I have read in a lot of places that it is good to shake things up the older that you get. It keeps your mind sharp. And one of the things I really noticed when we moved here to Indiana was that, since I was alone more, and diagnosed with RA, my life slowed down and I listened more. To God. To my hubby. Maybe to everyone.

I think that was a a change for the better.  It looks like this is the time for the hubby’s life to slow down a bit.  Maybe he feels a hunger to listen.

And since we trusted God and prayed for guidance about retirement, and God has taken care of us in our married life thus far, I am trusting that this will be a change for the better as well.

5 Responses to “He Went and Did It”


  1. 1 Tena March 2, 2007 at 2:42 am

    I’m happy for hubby, Becky. It sounds like you and him can have more time together now. Do some things you never had time to do together – you’ll find your love for one another has grown. God bless you and him in the changes in your lives. Faith is letting God lead and trusting Him completely. Sounds like you know that. Have a wonderful day.
    Love ya!

  2. 2 Becky March 2, 2007 at 6:36 am

    Your comment was a nice way to start the day, Tena. It made me smile, and when I read it to the hubby, he smiled, too.

    You have a wonderful weekend. This is my birthday weekend, so I plan on smiling all weekend long!

    Becky

  3. 3 Danielle March 2, 2007 at 5:07 pm

    I can so understand your mixed feelings about this wonderful new path…I hope to encourage you that it is a new beginning…not an end. I was terrified when my husband put in his retirement papers…he was in the Army for 22 years. We were unsure of where we would live, work, etc. Somehow it all fell together and we have called Florida our home for 6 years now. Granted, the first year is the hardest. Alot of transition. He was home more…..My husband was 40 when he retired from the Army..so of course there was no doubt there would be another career. He now works for the Post Office…I think the hardest part for me was when we hit the three year mark…I started getting restless and insecure….we had moved every three to four years up to that point…once we made it through year four I really began to settle in. As with all changes….it takes alot of prayer and patience….this is really an exciting time for you both…a new chapter is about to open…and BTW….have an awesome birthday weekend!!!!

  4. 4 The Nephew March 3, 2007 at 7:50 pm

    I hope it all goes better than expected, and that y’all end up being able to relax and watch a bit more Jeopardy… And spend time with those grandhildren of yours…

  5. 5 Becky March 4, 2007 at 6:34 pm

    Danielle, thank you so much for your kind words. It’s nice to hear from someone who has been through this retirement thing. I AM excited about what this year and those ahead of us will bring.

    And Nephew, thank you as well. I’m sure moving won’t be as exciting as welcoming a baby, but it’s right up there. And…from your English teaching family…who taught you to say ya’ll?


Leave a Reply

