Good Old G. T.

When the daughter was younger, she had a collection of cassette tapes called G.T. and the Halo Express. They were a series of stories featuring kids and Good Tidings Angel, who provided Scripture appropriate for the circumstances in which the kids found themselves. I’m not going to say I didn’t get tired of hearing them, because I did, but the daughter learned a LOT of Scripture that way, and it has stuck with her.

This morning I was doing my Bible reading and coming up with nothing. I mean, no connection whatsoever. I know the connection is still there, but it’s hard when you don’t feel it, you know? I was thinking about all the decisions we need to make for retirement, that the hubby plans on announcing his plans at the end of February which is coming right up and we don’t know whether we should move to Ohio to be with the kids or stay here and what about jobs and…. Yeah, I know. I probably didn’t hear anything because I was in my own way. Happens sometimes.

ANYWAY…I went to get ready for my walk in the mall and what do I find myself singing?

Do not fear, for I am with you

Do not be dismayed, for I am your God.

I will strengthen you, strengthen you and help you.

I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.

—Isaiah 41:10

I could hear G. T. bellowing with me plain as day!

Guess I know Somebody was listening, don’t I?

P.S. The last time I looked for G.T. for the daughter (we had lost some of them), they were out of print. I was happy to find a current link to them. And five minutes after I e-mailed her the link , the phone rang. It was the daughter, who said, “Oh, Mom, I have to have those CDs. They’re something I want for my kids when I have them.”

I know, I am supposed to be practicing for retirement. But I imagine that the daughter will find those CDs waiting for her in the near future.

The little things we do for our children mean so much! And I am thankful that my Heavenly Father spoke through G. T. to me as well.

My voice shalt thou hear in the morning, O LORD; in the morning will I direct my prayer unto thee, and will look up.

—Psalm 5:3

Thanks for answering, Abba.

 

 

 

 

10 Responses to “Good Old G. T.”


  1. 1 writeathome February 17, 2007 at 1:57 pm

    Beautiful post, Becky. I have never heard of G.T. before, but I plan on checking out your link. I know I have been ministered to before by VeggieTales cassettes and other things my kids used to listen to when they were younger, and I’ve had songs come back to me at times when I needed them. Also, when I’m doing my daily Bible reading, I don’t always get something I feel is relevant to what is going on in my life at the time. I’ve been reading in Leviticus and just coming away with the thought that I am thankful that I don’t have to offer animal sacrifices. 🙂

    Hope you have a wonderful weekend,

    Carol

  2. 2 Becky February 17, 2007 at 4:07 pm

    Hmmm… No animal sacrifices. You have a very good point, Carol. 🙂

  3. 3 iluv2prshim February 17, 2007 at 7:14 pm

    This was very interesting. I to had never heard of G.T. but will sure check him out. I like putting music to scripture. It does help in memorization, especially for kids.
    Blessings to you!

  4. 4 Tena February 17, 2007 at 7:15 pm

    Oh! I love G. T.! We have two books and I’m keeping them for my grandkids (some day). My boys loved for me to read them to them and I did a lot. I also liked the illustrations. Great artist.

  5. 5 writeathome February 18, 2007 at 2:19 am

    I checked out the website, and it looks interesting. I wish they had some sound bytes on there with samples of the songs. What is the music like? Classical, contemporary, folk type songs? Just curious.

  6. 6 amy February 18, 2007 at 1:20 pm

    Looks like good Easter basket stuff. My oldest got Resurrection Eggs last yr. and loved them!

  7. 7 Becky February 18, 2007 at 4:38 pm

    Carol, I noticed that the website did not have sound bytes, and I was sort of disappointed as well. The best way I can describe the music is sort of folksy. I guess I would say that it’s like Adventures in Odyssey with an angel solving the problem (in music) instead of Whit. I have asked the daughter to comment, so please check back. And Tena, do you have anything to add?

    Amy, what exactly are Resuurection Eggs?

  8. 8 The Daughter February 18, 2007 at 5:08 pm

    The music is kind of peppy and upbeat. The tunes are catchy so you can remember the verses. I know that when I am stressed there is usually a G.T. verse running through my head to calm me down. I would say the tunes are a lot like Veggie Tales.

  9. 9 amy February 19, 2007 at 12:31 pm

    Resurrection Eggs are plastic eggs in a purple box that come with a devotional booklet. Inside the eggs are things you use to tell the Easter Story. They are sold at Family Christian Stores.

  10. 10 Tena February 20, 2007 at 8:22 pm

    I’ve never heard the songs – I only have two of the books.
    Love ya!


Leave a Reply

