Witnessing

I wrote a while ago about the guy who is obviously a cross-dresser that I see around the mall. The last time I saw him was in Long John Silver’s, and I couldn’t bring myself to make eye contact. I felt bad, mostly because everyone, even a cross-dresser, deserves a smile. Anyway, I did get another chance the other day in the mall, and once I did smile and say hello, I couldn’t get rid of him.

I don’t think I was wrong in the spirit of what I did. I would have been uncomfortable with the not getting rid of him part whether or not he had been a cross-dresser. He walked through the ladies clothing in Elder Beerman with me, and then I told him I had to get back to my husband, thinking that would give him the hint. However, he stayed with me and walked with me and the hubby until we left the mall. (I don’t see how; I had on New Balance shoes and he had on heels.) The hubby didn’t say much. He just sighed and asked me how I struck up a conversation.

Anyway, I asked my friend Martha what I should have done because her judgment is usually pretty sound about these things, and she said I should have said something like,”That color looks pretty good on you, but are you sure you should be wearing women’s clothing?”

I told her that if the man were not a Christian, that would certainly turn him off.

She said maybe I should say, “Do you know that Jesus loves you even though you wear women’s clothing?”

That actually sounds better, but I don’t know if it’s right. I am sure the man meets a lot of really judgemental people. However, I also know that Jesus didn’t mince words with the woman at the well.

I’m not Jesus. I need help here. If anyone has any ideas about how I could show this man the love of Jesus other than by talking to him as I have done, I would love to hear them.

0 Responses to “Witnessing”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

