Seeing the Fruit

My younger sister shared something special with me the other day.

My sister’s husband is not a Christian. She has three children, ages 11, 9 and 6, and she takes them to church pretty much every Sunday. That’s not an easy task even if you have your husband’s support, and I don’t know how she manages. Things have gotten a little harder for her this year as the oldest, who is now in sixth grade, started Catechism classes. Catechism involves a lot of Scripture memorization and, the way I remember it, a LOT of parental encouragement.

Anyway…a man at church came up to my sister the other day and told her what a blessing her oldest son was. The man told her how cooperative and sincere Glenny is, and then he told her something she didn’t know. That my nephew prays for his dad. A lot.

I asked my sister if she cried, as her telling of the story brought tears to my eyes. She said she hadn’t at the time, but she got a little teary as she told me.

Statements such as those made about my nephew prove that the hard work all parents go through to train up their children in the way they should go will bear fruit, whether they know about it or not.

I hope her story gives hope and encouragement to all parents, but especially those who struggle to train their children alone.  Be patient.  Your work will bear fruit.

2 Responses to “Seeing the Fruit”


  1. 1 Barb March 14, 2007 at 9:30 pm

    I’ll pray for your sister and her husband. You can email me her name if you want, but you don’t have to, I’ll pray.

  2. 2 Becky March 15, 2007 at 5:45 am

    Thank you, Barb. I know my sister needs all the help she can get, and prayer is the best help of all. 🙂


Leave a Reply

