And While I’m Asking Questions….

….here’s one about one of my friends. (It’s OK; we’ll probably have school tomorrow and I will have less time to write. The questions will end.)

My friend has high blood pressure. She’s sort of a big lady, and I knew she had high blood pressure, for which she refused to take medicine, two years ago. It’s her choice. She had uterine cancer and a lumpectomy in her breast, and she has been cancer-free. Obviously, God has been good to her.

But she has a suspicious lump in her breast again, and when she went to have the lumpectomy, the hospital refused to do it because her blood pressure was 220/180. Now, she says it normally doesn’t run that high, but she also says that people have been taking the blood pressure on her forearm, which my husband was told will give an inaccurate reading. Doesn’t matter to my friend. She said she’d take the medicine for two weeks, so that the docs will do the lumpectomy, but she’s believing that when she goes back to the doctor, the suspicious lump in her breast will be gone.

My friend and I have had many discussions about the “poisons” that I put in my body for my RA. And I admit it; in order to function, that’s exactly what I do. She thinks I should just believe God for healing. And I did. And I do. But it hasn’t happened yet. My dad thinks I think too big. He thinks I should ask God to cure ME (which I have), not to come up with a cure for RA. I DID ask. I just haven’t had an answer yet.

But what I want to know is, why do some people think that if you have a chronic disease, it’s the result of lack of faith on your part? I just think it’s like Paul’s thorn in the flesh and there’s something that God wants to teach me through all of this.Β  And maybe He wants to teach my friend.

So what I said to my friend was that she should take her medication. And I have to tell you here that the hubby has high blood pressure and I am extremely glad that he takes his medications. I don’t see it as a lack of faith on our part at all. I see it as our dealing with the tools that God gave us.

I don’t think healing always comes right away.

What do you think?

7 Responses to “And While I’m Asking Questions….”


  1. 1 amy February 15, 2007 at 2:49 pm

    I agree. If you pray for healing, you should be prepared to accept the answer, which may be no. I know of many good Christians who were not healed, and are now with the Lord or still here on earth suffering.

  2. 2 Tena February 16, 2007 at 4:01 am

    Hi, Becky. I haven’t commented to you in a very long time. But, today, I wanted to tell you how much I admire your attitude about life. You live with health difficulties, but you still are so positive and cheerful. You amaze me! πŸ˜€

    About this post you wrote, I think the bottom line is: Our faith in God. Do we trust Him enough to accept when He does or doesn’t answer our prayers – or when He doesn’t do what we expect? He sees the big picture – He knows the future. So, we trust Him and love Him and work for Him as best we can. πŸ™‚

    I thought of you when I read Shirley’s post called: The Glory of Unanswered prayer. Did you read it?

    You said, “the hubby has high blood pressure and I am extremely glad that he takes his medications. I don’t see it as a lack of faith on our part at all. I see it as our dealing with the tools that God gave us.” I AGREE. πŸ™‚

    I don’t think healing comes right away either. I have had something wrong with my left eye for several months, now. The doctor can’t figure out how to make it better. Been trying different medicines. Even though I go to the dr. and take meds., I DO ask God and I DO BELIEVE He can and will heal me. It just hasn’t happened, yet. But…I still know that God is a Healer! We just don’t understand everything and we never will. We just trust…trust our Jesus – He knows best. πŸ™‚

    God bless you! I don’t know you, but I love you. πŸ™‚
    Tena

  3. 3 Becky February 16, 2007 at 7:12 am

    Thanks for your comments, Amy and Tena.

    I think I remember reading Shirley’s post, Tena, but I couldn’t find it when I went back to her blog, so I have asked for her help.

    I will include your left eye in my prayers. I did enjoy reading your blog, and it is nice to hear from you again. Isn’t it nice how blogging helped us meet?

  4. 4 Tena February 16, 2007 at 12:31 pm

    Yes! It is nice how blogging helped us meet. πŸ™‚ Thanks for your prayers and I will pray for you.
    The post I’m talking about is on Shirley’s devotional blog site: “God Things” @ http://shirleybuxton.wordpress.com/

    Have a great day!

  5. 5 Becky February 16, 2007 at 5:48 pm

    Thanks for telling me where to find Shirley’s post. It was a good one, and I will make sure to read more.

    Have a wonderful weekend!

  6. 6 heartwhispers February 21, 2007 at 8:28 am

    We forget we are on God’s time and not our own. It’s hard to let Him have control of our lives. I’ve had a bout of cancer, so far, I’ve been cancer free for 3-years. I finally found peace in my soul. I think the hardest part of having a disease or illness is when some people act like you must have some terrible sin in your life or your faith must be really weak. We don’t know why we are allowed to be afflicted… but my TRUST in God remained strong.

    His will…not mine.

    ~Pam

  7. 7 Becky February 21, 2007 at 4:20 pm

    I appreciate your comment very much, Pam. If there is one lesson the RA continues to teach me, it is that God is in control, not me. I can’t even imagine what cancer is like.

    May God continue to bless the life that He has granted you.

    Becky


Leave a Reply

