How ’bout Them Colts!!

School is delayed or cancelled because of the frigid temperatures here in Indiana, but I am sure I will hear this phrase over and over again when I finally get there. Indiana has been a sea of Colts’ blue for the past two weeks.

Usually, I could care less about football, but the excitement here in Indiana has been infectious. I read and watched both Tony Dungy’s and Lovie Smith’s testimonies here and found myself thinking that it didn’t really matter who won, that both coaches and teams are winners in their own right. However I am, at least for the moment, a Hoosier, so I am glad the Colts got their victory.

Perhaps the headline from the website of WTHR, one of the Indianapolis TV stations, sums things up best. Interestingly, the same headline could have been run in Chicago had the Bears won. This is what it says: Dungy proves nice guys can finish first. In his usual quiet way, Dungy gave credit where he saw that it was due. He was pleased to be the first African-American coach to win the Super Bowl, saying that some of the coaches who preceded him could have won had they been given the opportunity. Dungy said:

The Lord gave me an opportunity. [Chicago Bears Coach] Lovie [Smith] and I and were able to take advantage of it. We’re certainly not the best and certainly not the most qualified. I know there’s some other guys that could have done it given the chance. So I just felt good that I was the first one to be able to do it and kind of represent those guys that have paved the way for me.”

What is there to add to that statement?

Like I said, football doesn’t usually interest me. Had the hubby not been home, I would have waited for morning to find out the results,and I don’t know enough about it to say that the best team won. But I am glad the Colts’ hard work paid off.

And that a nice guy finished first.

 

 

1 Response to “How ’bout Them Colts!!”


  1. 1 iluv2prshim February 9, 2007 at 2:15 am

    You know, I’m like you in that football doesn’t really interest me that much. However, this year I got real excited and I’m glad that Dungy took it all the way. The Colts played a great game.


Leave a Reply

