Can You Help the Daughter Find this Song?

She remembers the song, which we think was called “This Much I Love You” from her childhood, and she wants her choir to sing it for Easter, but she cannot find the music. She says we had it on tape (which I vaguely remember) and that the singers were nuns. Here are the lyrics. I hope they are familiar to someone!

The sun was warm on the grass of green, the birds were singing gay.

A lady sat at her spinning wheel as she watched her child at play.

A gentle handsome child was he, this child who had just turned three,

Whose greatest joy and thrill right now was to climb the highest tree.

Refrain :
This much I love you, oh this much I really care
This much I love you and I’ll always be right there

“How much do you love me?” the mother has asked of this child who played so free.

“This much!” he cried with his arms outstretched as he quickly ran to her knee. Refrain

The years have passed and the child has grown,

He is strong and handsome still.

But the tree he loved to climb so much,

He just carried to Calvary’s hill

Refrain

His mother stands and I see her tears

Fall silently one by one.

I’m sure she feels each hammer blow

As they crucify her son.

“How much do love me?” the world has asked

Of this man now crucified .

“I love you this much,” I heard him say

As he bowed his head and died.

Refrain

16 Responses to “Can You Help the Daughter Find this Song?”


  1. 1 writeathome January 27, 2007 at 9:22 pm

    I’ve never heard of this song, but the lyrics are beautiful.

  2. 2 Shirley January 30, 2007 at 11:38 am

    I’m with Carol…What beautiful words.

    Shirley Buxton
    http://www.writenow.wordpress.com

  3. 3 Ron February 3, 2007 at 11:47 pm

    The album is by Mary Welch Rogers. I still have that, but I could not find the jacket to locate the copyright information.

  4. 4 Kathy September 21, 2007 at 5:20 am

    It was sung by Mary Welch on “The Hour of Power” by Robert Schuller quite a few years ago. My father scored music for it immediately after hearing it. I have been searching for an original score but can’t seem to find one from any of the major choral companies. I would love to perform this piece but as you know can’t until proper permission is granted. I am looking at Mary Welch info to see if I can contact her and get permission. If I’m successful then I will be happy to send you a copy of what my father has scored.

  5. 5 Becky September 21, 2007 at 5:45 am

    Thank you so much, Kathy. 🙂

  6. 6 Mayr February 16, 2008 at 9:34 am

    I was just looking for this song too!
    We used to sing it when I was we visited the Schoenstatt shrine on Staten Island. Sister Yvette taught us. . .
    I would love to teach my CCD kids this song. . .
    Please forward any information.
    THANK YOU!

  7. 7 AG April 12, 2008 at 6:51 am

    Does anyone have a recording or guitar chords for this song? I can not find anything on this song. Please foward me any information. Thank you.

  8. 9 Jim Keefe April 6, 2009 at 3:28 pm

    I emailed Ms. Rogers asking for permission to perform this song on Good Friday. She never wrote back. 😦

  9. 10 Becky April 6, 2009 at 5:40 pm

    That’s too bad, Jim. It’s a wonderful song.

  10. 11 sara November 17, 2010 at 9:23 pm

    i love this song and could not find the name thank you so much for the lyrics we use to sing this song all the time in sunday school.

  11. 12 Maureen April 23, 2011 at 1:01 am

    I love this song. They play it every year at our Living Stations. I would really love to find a recording of it but I can’t find it anyway online

  12. 13 Rich April 23, 2011 at 8:29 am

    My wife wanted to hear this song again. They always sang it at our old church on Good Friday, but we moved and our new church did not sing it. Our daughter (still going to our old church) commented about crying during that song, “just like mom always does”. We told her she missed it this year. That started an search for it and our daughter found it.

    It was on the same link as Ozzie posted (above). Click on it. Then click on STORE and scroll to the bottom of the page. There it is! Click on “This Much” and enjoy!

    I can also send a copy to you via e-mail.

    • 14 Rich April 25, 2011 at 11:13 am

      I don’t know why, but on some of my computers, when I try to go to http://www.marywelchrogers.com and follow the steps I described (above), I get a different song when I click on “This Much”.
      The title of the song we are all talking about is “This Much”, but for some reason the link on her page doesn’t always work right. I have a copy on my hard drive and can send it as an attachment to anyone, if they are having trouble.

  13. 15 Kristy October 21, 2011 at 9:26 pm

    Thanks for posting this message. I gave my life to Christ at Camp Lutherhaven in Albion, IN due to this song. 20 some years later, I really wanted the words as part of my testimony.

  14. 16 Krem November 2, 2011 at 10:04 pm

    There’s the recording of Mary Welch Rogers’ version. But the version I know is a bit different. It’s sort of my school’s tradition, and was actually the first thing our drama club performed. If anyone is after the guitar tabs(? or chords? I don’t play so I don’t know) I may be able to acquire them from Sr. Terese, the one who brought this song to our school. Pop me an email at Kremzeek217 AT gmail DOT com.


Leave a Reply

