A Solemn Anniversary

Today is the thirty-fourth anniversary of Roe v.Wade. Not exactly the kind of anniversary most of us would want to celebrate.

We should never quit fighting for sanctity of life in this country. We should never quit fighting for what is right.  And according to this editorial in NATIONAL REVIEW ONLINE, as published by CBS NEWS, the battle to overturn Roe V. Wade is relatively young. Nevertheless the article’s writer, Nikolas T. Nikas, states that:

… as we maintain a long-term vision, we must also come to terms with today’s brutal facts. The numbers are staggering and so, sometimes, is the temptation to despair. As we soberly mark the 34th anniversary of the judicial atrocity known as Roe v. Wade, the sheer number of innocent victims of that act of judicial tyranny overwhelms our everyday experience.

Even under the most conservative of estimates (and we lack certainty because we do not have a national, uniform mandatory abortion reporting requirement), somewhere between 40 million and 50 million unborn children have died under this nation’s regime of abortion.

To put that number in some context, the best estimate is that the total war dead, of all causes, for all of America’s major and minor wars since 1775 is 1,329,991 or an amount equal to just one year of Roe’s infernal tally.

These are sobering numbers.

I saw an op-ed cartoon concerning abortion once that has always stuck with me. It showed a man on his knees praying, asking God why He hadn’t sent people to cure cancer, to end poverty, to avoid war. The man’s list went on and on. And God’s answer, with which I will leave you, was this:

I sent them. You aborted them.

What have we, as a nation, done?

4 Responses to “A Solemn Anniversary”


  1. 1 Carol January 23, 2007 at 2:16 am

    It’s hard to believe it was 34 years ago. Have you ever heard the song by Acapella, What Was I Supposed To Be? I remember hearing this song right after I had my daughter, and I just bawled thinking about how people could kill babies. Here are the words to the song.

    Jesus walked upon the earth on the shores of Galilee.
    Said to his disciples, “Let the little children come to me.”
    I wonder if up in heaven, do you suppose was the scene
    Little children asking, “What was I supposed to be?”

    Chorus:
    What was I supposed to be? What were my eyes supposed to see?
    Why did I taste of death before I even drew a breath
    or laid my head at my mother’s breast to sleep?
    Oh Jesus, what was I supposed to be?

    Repeat Chorus

    Would I be a prophet used in the ministry?
    A doctor who would find a cure for some terrible disease?
    Even if I’d been born imperfect why couldn’t my daddy see
    that I’d a been made perfect when you came back for me.

    Oh Jesus,
    Repeat Chorus

    Jesus- what was I supposed to be?

  2. 2 Becky January 23, 2007 at 6:20 am

    I had not heard this song, Carol. It brings tears to my eyes. Thank you for posting the lyrics. I pray that they reach someone today.

  3. 3 amy January 23, 2007 at 9:42 am

    Since I couldn’t find the letter on the web, I’ll try and re-type it for you.

    Sunday, Saginaw News, letter to the Editor by Gary Nehring of Aus Gres, titled “Embryo Value”:

    “What’s wrong with this picture? If I stomp on or spray some fuel oil on some cormorant eggs on Charity Island, I can get fined and go to jail for destroying the developing embryo. If I disturb an eagle’s nest and shake the egg to kill the developing embryo, I can be fined and go to jail. But if I use a human embryo for “scientific experimentation” and destroy the embryo for its stem cells, it is called “progress” or “science” and I will be hailed as a wonderful person.

    Is not the developing human embryo more valuable than a bird’s embryo?

    Not in today’s culture of death. Birds and animals have more “rights” than developing human babies do.

    …Sperm fertilizes egg. New life is begun. No doubt about it. Scientific fact.

    Something is definitely wrong with our society if we can kill our (developing) children without any penalty, but we go to jail if we harm a (developing) bird or animal.”

    Makes you think, doesn’t it?

  4. 4 iluv2prshim January 23, 2007 at 4:09 pm

    Very sobering, indeed. We have to keep fighting for life!


Leave a Reply

