Hope for Tomorrow

I have a lot of things I want to blog about because our church service today was based on sanctity of life. And I will blog on them. But right now what is on my mind is tomorrow.

Tomorrow is my husband’s annual salary review. And I am sure that he will do well, although I know that the two injuries on his territory will count against him. God is always faithful to balance out such things with the kind of work that the hubby does.

This review feels different though, and I don’t know if it really is or if I have imposed my own feelings on it. I know better than to walk by my feelings, but that doesn’t mean I don’t do it sometimes.

It has been rumored for a long time that the hubby’s territory was to be divided up and parceled out in a sort of redistricting. In February, that redistricting will happen in all the other departments, but no such move has been announced for his.

I have prayed about this for a long time, and I feel that such a move, especially if it involves a separation package for my husband, particularly since it occurs at a time when he wishes to retire, will happen. I am convinced of it,have prayed for it and asked for it even though the powers that be have sworn that the hubby’s department is not changing.

The man who does the hubby’s review announced Friday that he was coming, something that he has not done previously. He also announced that he would review the hubby’s assistant, also something that is not usually done.  The reviews at the same time, I mean. It really isn’t time for the assistant’s yearly or quarterly reviews. Something is different.

The hubby has been putting off announcing his intention to retire to see how things play out. He shared with me something that I had only thought, that if he is to profit in some way from this redistribution, the announcement, he feels, will come tomorrow or not at all.

So, I look forward. To tomorrow. If what I have been praying for doesn’t happen, God will still look out for the hubby and me. Although I still have this feeling, I know that God has a plan “to prosper the husband and me, to give us a hope and a future”(Jeremiah 29:10). And despite my feelings, it is on that knowledge that I will rest.

1 Response to “Hope for Tomorrow”


  1. 1 writeathome January 22, 2007 at 7:20 pm

    You can’t always trust your feeling, but you can trust the Word of God! May God prosper you and your husband as He sees fit.

    Blessings,

    Carol


Leave a Reply

