Bad? Good? Or Not Sure?

My schedule was changed again, and I am moving from English 12 to two periods of English 11 with the same teacher. The reason? Tomorrow, she will inherit a boy with Asperger’s Syndrome, a form of autism, and she will need someone in there to help him one-on-one. There are other special needs kids in that class, but none who are functioning as low as this boy.

Of course I am disappointed. I like working in English 12. I had two periods of it last semester. When I told the teacher, she was dismayed. She only has support for one period. Last semester, she had support for three out of four.

But she did say something that touched my heart. See, I help some of the marginal kids that don’t qualify as special needs but are still struggling. The teacher said that several of them came up to her and asked what they would do without me in the class. She suggested that they talk to the principal.

There are so many kids that need help. There are only so many aids to go around. What happens to the kids who fall through the cracks?

1 Response to “Bad? Good? Or Not Sure?”


  1. 1 writeathome January 11, 2007 at 2:22 am

    Becky,

    I know it’s sad that there are some kids who do fall through the cracks, but God bless you for doing what you can to help these struggling kids. It’s not something that just anybody can do.


Leave a Reply

