Trial Run

The hubby and I are having a trial retirement run to see if we can live on one paycheck a month. I managed to get down to five visits to WalMart in December, and since that’s where I do my grocery shopping, I feel pretty good about that.

I can see that the next thing we have to tackle is eating out, which we often do because we are out and about and it is easy. I guess there is some excuse for when we are traveling, but ten of the twelve entries (OUCH!) on our credit card were here at home.

Eating at home is a good idea anyway. The husband of a woman with whom I work, I found out today, is going to have a gastric bypass on Friday. He is fifty years old and over a hundred fifty pounds overweight. They have gone through six months of counseling. The woman also qualifies, but she has opted for Weight Watchers. Anyway, their counselor told them that, after the surgery, the wheels of their vehicles should not touch the parking lot of a fast food restaurant or a buffet or pizza parlor for a year.

That wouldn’t be a bad idea for the hubby and me, either.

2 Responses to “Trial Run”


  1. 1 writeathome January 9, 2007 at 2:02 am

    I think we’d be better off eating at home more too. We do pretty good on the weekdays but tend to go hog wild on the weekends. I know several people who have had the gastric bypass done. One man in particular was not following a very good diet and ended up going through depression and such as a result. However, he is back to normal now. Everyone I know that has had the surgery looks really good, but still, it seems too risky to me. I’m a little overweight but not enough to have surgery. Guess I’ll be following the dieter’s path!

  2. 2 Becky January 10, 2007 at 6:26 am

    I am hearing about gastric bypass more and more. I don’t know if it is because of my age group or what.

    It’s hard not to eat out when you have kids at home and they have activities which take you every which way. I remember. Then things changed, and it was not to eat out because I would take things to the hubby as he worked or because it was so hard to plan meals for two.

    I don’t think our moms had this problem, but I don’t think eating out was so common then. Nor was life as fast-paced.

    What do you think?


Leave a Reply

