Tag–Five Things You Don’t Know about Me

Ronda tagged me, and I guess early morning is a good time to ponder, so here goes.

1.  My kids used to go to camp in Indiana, and I always enjoyed the scenery.  As the little town where we raised our kids got built up, I off-handedly said to my husband, “If we really want to live in the boonies, we’ll have to move to Indiana.”  I guess God heard me.

2. My desire as a teenager was to be a Wycliffe Bible Translator.  I started out at Calvin College in Grand Rapids, MI, but came home to Ohio to finish my B.A. in Linguistics.  It was there that I met the hubby and got sidetracked.  I like to think, though, that this where God meant me to be.

3. People who knew me thought it unlikely that I would enjoy life in the country, but I really did enjoy my twenty-one years there.  Who knew that I could pet a pig or catch chickens?

4. The hubby and I used to go on what was called poker runs on his Honda motorcycle.  That was also something no one would have expected of me.  We just rode the bike to various stops and picked up a playing card at each one.  At the end of the run, there would be a picnic and the people with the best poker hands who, as I remember it, were never us, would win a prize.  The hubby sold the bike two years ago, but we hadn’t been on it in twenty.  Too busy.  Sigh.

5.   I went back to school for English certification, but I always wanted to help special needs kids.  I told my husband that I would avoid special needs because I would want to bring the kids home with me.  Ten years later, I was working in Special Ed, and I know I am in the right place.

The people I want to tag are all on My Space, and I haven’t figured that out yet.  If I do, I’ll be back with their info.

5 Responses to “Tag–Five Things You Don’t Know about Me”


  1. 1 iluv2prshim January 4, 2007 at 7:45 pm

    Becky, your life has been very full. You are one of those people I love, in that you help those most in need of it.
    I’m sorry you never won on the poker runs. LOL You should have. My husband also had a Gold Wing for several years that we enjoyed riding.
    May God’s richest blessings be yours,
    Ronda

  2. 2 writeathome January 4, 2007 at 8:52 pm

    Hi Becky,

    Isn’t is funny how often we end up doing things we said we would never do or living where we never thought we would live? I used to say I didn’t want to be a pastor’s wife, but here I am, and I don’t regret it.

  3. 3 Becky January 4, 2007 at 8:56 pm

    It is sort of weird. I mean, you mean it when you say it, but then when it happens, it’s the best thing for you or, like you said, you don’t regret it.

    Like starting a blog. I was initially resistant, but I look forward to hearing from my blogging friends. It;s nice to find out the things we have in common. And we probably never would have met were it not for the blogs.

  4. 4 Shirley January 5, 2007 at 12:39 am

    Loved reading your 5 things. Guess what. A couple of people tagged me to, and I must go home and write my 5!

    Hope for today!

    Shirley Buxton
    http://www.writenow.wordpress.com

  5. 5 Becky January 5, 2007 at 7:42 am

    I look forward to reading them.


Leave a Reply

