Hustling and Bustling

I, along with every other adult this season, have too much to do. That’s why I thought I would share this tidbit from Philip Yancey’s new book:PRAYER: DOES IT MAKE ANY DIFFERENCE?

I always take my time when I read Yancey’s books because he  gives my mind and heart a lot to chew on. This particular comment, though, really stuck out to my husband and me. Yancey was talking about praying from Scripture, and he mentioned two verses from Psalm 51. They were verse ten, which says,”Create in me a clean heart, O God, and renew a right spirit within me,” and verse twelve, which says, “Restore unto me the joy of your salvation, and uphold me with Thy free spirit.”

Those two verses are appropriate prayers at any time, of course. But in the Christmas season, I find that my motives are not always pure and I need to be aware of having a clean heart. Maybe YOU don’t get frustrated trying to juggle schedules at this time of year, but figuring out such things can make me a trifle short-tempered.

Which brings me back to Psalm 51:12. The hubby and I decided that would be part of our Christmas meditation and well, maybe just year-round. How many times a day could any of us use a reminder of the joy of God’s salvation?

So… I do have a lot to say, although I probably won’t be saying it this weekend.  Haven’t been blogging much lately. Too much to do. But in the midst of it all, I just wanted to say that my prayer for you will be that our Heavenly Father will restore the joy of His salvation to you this Christmas as you gather with those you love.

1 Response to “Hustling and Bustling”


  1. 1 iluv2prshim December 24, 2006 at 10:58 pm

    Becky, Merry Christmas to you and your family!
    Be Blessed,
    Ronda


Leave a Reply

