Jeff Foxworthy on Indiana

I received this via e-mail, and I couldn’t resist sharing. So much of it is true. And I think, having lived here seven and a half years, my Buckeye blood is thinning… I should, however, preface this with the good things about Indiana.

Really, I like the Hoosier state. I think it is one of the most friendly that I have visited, and there is certainly a lot of beautiful countryside. The weather is milder than it was in northwest Ohio, at least where I live, and the people who go to those churches Foxworthy mentioned really do care about their fellow men.

Still…it never pays to take ourselves too seriously….

1. If someone in a store offers you assistance and they don’t work there, you might be in Indiana.

2. If your dad’s suntan stops at a line curving around the middle of his forehead, you might live in Indiana.

3. If your town has an equal number of bars and churches, you might live in Indiana.

4. If you have had a lengthy telephone conversation with someone who dialed a wrong number, you might live in Indiana.

YOU KNOW YOU ARE A TRUE HOOSIER WHEN:

Vacation means going north or south on I-65 for the weekend.

You measure distance in hours.

You know several people who have hit a deer more than once.

You often switch from heat to AC and back again in the same day.

You can drive 65 MPH through 2 feet of snow in a raging blizzard without flinching.

You see people wearing camouflage at social events, including weddings.

You install security lights on your house and garage and then leave both of them unlocked.

You carry jumper cables in your car and your girlfriend knows how to use them.

Driving is better in the winter because the potholes are filled with snow.

You know all five seasons: almost winter, winter, still winter, road construction and “It’s really hot!”

Down south means Kentucky to you.

A brat is something you eat.

…and so on.

2 Responses to “Jeff Foxworthy on Indiana”


  1. 1 iluv2prshim December 7, 2006 at 3:07 pm

    LOL! This is great. When we lived in Texas I always enjoyed the “redneck” jokes because some of them are sooo true. It is good to laugh.

  2. 2 writeathome December 8, 2006 at 3:30 pm

    I do think that the Indiana countryside is beautiful. However, I’m not fond of the big cities of Indianapolis and Gary. I grew up in Chicago, but I guess I’m not really a big city girl.


Leave a Reply

