An Old Favorite with a Twist

One of the joys of grandmotherhood has been to teach RJ and Tony the songs their daddy sang. Tony’s getting there. He just found his words a few months ago. I am sure that he will shortly sing his songs with the gusto his older brother exhibits. It seems to me that all little kids sing songs that way. Loud. Without any regard for the tune (although RJ exhibits a good ear). Like they are singing from the bottoms of their hearts.

That’s what I thought of when we sang the “senior version” of “Jesus Loves Me” in church this morning. Here’s the verse that really hit me:

Tho’ my steps are oh so slow,
With my hand in His I’ll go,
On thru life let come what may,
He’ll be there to lead the way.

Yes, Jesus loves me;
Yes, Jesus loves me;
Yes, Jesus loves me;
The Bible tells me so

Thankfully, even with the RA, my steps are not THAT slow yet.  But still, as the hubby and I face retirement (well–a mid-life readjustment), it helps to remember that we can put our hands in the hands of Jesus, that He’ll be there to lead the way.

So..maybe I’ll be memorizing the new verses of this old favorite.

And maybe God will grant me the grace to sing them with the gusto and the simple faith with which my grandsons sing “their” version.

1 Response to “An Old Favorite with a Twist”


  1. 1 writeathome October 30, 2006 at 2:35 am

    I like the geriatric spin on Jesus Loves Me. I hate to admit it, but I’m heading that way. 🙂


Leave a Reply

